Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

Quinlan back in the fray for Munster's Italian job

Tony McGahan forced into wholesale changes ahead of Mangers League clash with Aironi.

Image: Inpho

MUNSTER HEAD COACH Tony McGahan has named a much-changed side for the Magners League clash with Aironi on Sunday (ko 1pm).

Ireland, of course, play Scotland in their Six Nations showdown in Edinburgh on the same day. The coach has been forced into seven changes – with the return of Alan Quinlan the headline.

The Thomond Park tough guy dislocated his elbow against Connacht last December. The Tipperary native is named on an experienced replacements bench alongside Denis Fogarty, Marcus Horan and Doug Howlett.

In a statement released earlier, the selected pack shows just one personnel change from the 23-13 win over Edinburgh last week.

The highly-promising Ian Nagle replaces Denis Leamy. Donnacha Ryan moves to the blindside of the backrow.

Paul Warwick will begin at outhalf and will be partnered by Duncan Williams at scrum half in the abscence of internationals Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer and the injured Tomás O’Leary.

Sam Tuitupou resumes at inside centre and Denis Hurley moves to the wing. Cork Constitution winger Simon Zebo completes the exciting back three with Johne Murphy. There’s no place for Doug Howlett.

Meanwhile, Thomond chiefs moved to clarify that the game in Italy would not be shown on TV.

“Munster wish to notify supporters that Sunday’s Magners League game against Aironi Rugby will not be televised,” a statement reads, “According to the TG4 broadcast schedule the game was to be televised at 1pm on Sunday but due to ongoing issues with Dahlia TV (Italian network) the match will not be broadcast and has been pulled from the schedule.”

Aironi : D Demas; K Robertson, G Pavan, M Pratichetti, G Toniolatti; J Marshall, P Travagli; A De Marchi, T D’Apice, F Staibano; J Furno, M Bortolami (capt); J Sole, G Krause, N Williams.

Replacements : R Santamaria, L Redolfini, A De Marchi, G Biagi, N Cattina, G Bronzini, R Bocchino, G Pizarro.

Munster : J Murphy, D Hurley, L Mafi, S Tuitupou, S Zebo, P Warwick, D Williams, W du Preez, D Varley, T Buckley, I Nagle, M O’Driscoll capt, D Ryan, T O’Donnell, J Coughlan.

Replacements : D Fogarty, M Horan, S Archer, B Holland, A Quinlan, C Murray, D Cusack, D Howlett.

About the author:

Read next: