BE PART OF THE TEAM

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Wednesday 23 September 2020
Advertisement

Were Argentina lucky not to get a red card this afternoon?

Ramiro Herrera came close to a second yellow card.

IT’S QUITE RARE to see a sending off for two yellow cards in rugby.

Argentina prop Ramiro Herrera very nearly found himself with one today, however.

The tighthead prop picked up his yellow for a first half shoulder charge on Keith Earls, before being involved in this controversial incident with 30 minutes to play and the game firmly in the balance.

Referee Jerome Garces went to his TMO to check the legality of this attempted clear-out on Rory Best.

The TMO ruled that Herrera had bound to the ruck with his left arm, and Garces decided it was worth just a penalty.

Correct decision, or did Herrera get away with one?

Source: SWFLB/Dailymotion

H/T Balls.ie

Anguished Ireland players left to wonder why they were unable to walk the walk

Two of Argentina’s tries made for an absolute masterclass in finishing

About the author:

Neil Treacy

Read next:

COMMENTS (40)