INPHO/Cathal Noonan Bill Maher lifts the Irish Press Cup.
# Champions
Report: Tipp take minor title at the second time of asking
The Premier County saw off Dublin with a ten-point win in the replay at Croke Park today.

Tipperary 2-18

Dublin 1-11

TIPPERARY ARE ALL-Ireland minor champions for the 19th time after comprehensively defeating Dublin in a replay at Croke Park this afternoon.

The sides met again as part of a double-header after a stoppage time score from Dublin’s Paul Winters had earned them another bite at the cherry three weeks ago.

It is the Premier County’s first minor title since 2007 and was thoroughly-deserved after they outscored their opponents by ten points.

Dublin led for a brief period at the start of the game as St Brigid’s forward Winters, who was their leading scorer with six points, fired over with less than a minute played.

Tipperary responded through John McGrath’s free after Stephen Cahill was fouled and from there took control of the tie.

The green flag was raised for the first time on 11 minutes when Mark McCarthy picked up the ball 45 yards out and soloed beyond a couple of players before shooting past Cian MacGabhann.

Dublin came back with two points in quick succession but Tipp went further ahead with a second goal on 13 minutes – Tadhg Gallagher calmly finding the back of the net.

The gap between the sides was eleven points at half-time (2-10 to 0-5) as William Maher’s side dominated.

McGrath opened the scoring in the second half with an excellent point, Gallagher added to his tally while captain Bill Maher got in on the action.

Oisin O’Rourke scored his fifth goal of the championship in the 52nd minute as the Dubs attempted to stage a comeback but the Irish Press Cup is going back to Tipperary as they won out by a score of 2-18 to 1-11.

Tipperary players celebrate after the full time whistle. Credit: INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Speaking to TV3 after the match, Tipperary boss William Maher said: “We’re just delighted to win the match. The performance was very good. We worked hard the last three weeks.

It was great to get a good start. Dublin are a fantastic team, we’ve been saying it all year. We’re just glad we looked after ourselves and got the performance.”

Scorers: Tipperary: John McGrath 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Mark McCarthy, Tadhg Gallagher 1-2 each, Sean Maher 0-2, Bill Maher, Stephen Cahill 0-1 each.

Dublin: Paul Winters 0-6 (0-6f), Oisin O’Rorke 1-1, James Roche 0-2, Eoghan O’Donnell, Cormac Costello 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy); Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Breen (Ballina), Jack Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs); Tom Fox (Éire Óg-Annacarty), Thomas Hamill (Killea), Barry Heffernan (Éire Óg Nenagh); Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Dylan Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs), Sean Maher (Clonoulty-Rossmore); Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan), Jack Shelly (Mullinahone), Mark McCarthy (Toomevara).

Subs: Stephen O’Brien for Sean Maher (52), Sean Ryan for Stephen Cahill (56), Conor Lanigan for Mark McCarthy (59), Jack Loughnane for Mark McCarthy (61).

DUBLIN: Cian Mac Gabhann (Kilmacud Crokes); Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s), Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala), Shane Barrett (Na Fianna); Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille), Robert Murphy (Kilmacud Crokes), Sean McClelland (Lucan Sarsfields); Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille), Colm Cronin (Cuala); Conor McHugh (Na Fianna), Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh), Donal Gormley (Ballinteer-St John’s); James Roche (Ballyboden-St Enda’s), Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes), Paul Winters (St Brigid’s).

Subs: Kevin O’Flynn for Robert Murphy (half-time), Caolan Conway for Conor McHugh (38), Sean Treacy for James Roche (45), Ross Tierney for Cian O’Callaghan (inj) (59).

Club call: Dunloy rue missed chance as Loughgiel retain Antrim title

Club call: Tempo Maguires too strong for Lisnaskea Emmetts

Your Voice
Readers Comments