Richardson announces 35-man Airtricity squad for Man City, Celtic clashes

Rico has named a preliminary 35-man Airtricity League panel for the Dublin Super Cup clashes against Celtic and Manchester City at the Aviva Stadium.

Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

DAMIEN RICHARDSON, MANAGER of the Airtricity League XI to take part in the upcoming Dublin Super Cup, has named a preliminary 35-man squad for the clashes against Manchester City and Celtic at the end of July.

The initial squad boasts four full internationals – Northern Ireland’s Alan Mannus, Republic of Ireland caps Joe Gamble and Jason Byrne, as well as Libya’s Eamon Zayed.

Six of the team that faced Manchester United in last season’s pre-season clash are also included.

Richardson has taken the decision not to include players from FAI Ford Cup winners Sligo Rovers, who will be involved in Europa League action, while the Airtricity First Division is represented by Cork City’s Danny Murphy and Joe Gamble of Limerick.

“I’m really excited to be naming my provisional panel for the Dublin Super Cup today as I think it highlights some of the exciting talent we have playing in the Airtricity League,” stated Richardson.

“I will now use the coming weeks to fine tune my selection before confirming the final squad. I’m confident we’ll be capable of competing with Celtic and Manchester City in this tournament, which I feel has captured the imagination of the Irish sporting public.

“I’ve already spoken to some of the boys and I know how thrilled they are to be taking part in a game that will be broadcast around the world and already I sense a mood of anticipation and determination beginning to build.”

Also taking part in the tournament at the Aviva Stadium between July 30th and 31st will be 2010 Champions League winners Inter Milan.

Initial 35-man selection to face Celtic and Manchester City:

Goalkeepers: Ger Doherty (Derry City), Gary Rogers (St Patrick’s Athletic), Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers).
Defenders: Pat Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers), Owen Heary (Bohemians), Simon Madden (Dundalk), Stewart Greacen, Shane McEleney (Derry City), Colin Hawkins (Dundalk), Dan Murray, Craig Sives, Ken Oman (Shamrock Rovers), Danny Murphy (Cork City), Daniel Lafferty (Derry City).

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Midfielders: Daniel Kearns (Dundalk), Gareth McGlynn (Derry City), Daryl Kavanagh (St Patrick’s Athletic), Gary McCabe (Shamrock Rovers), Barry Molloy, Ruaidhri Higgins (Derry City), Joe Gamble (Limerick), Gary Dempsey (Bray Wanderers), Dave Mulcahy (St Patrick’s Athletic), Dean Bennett (Dundalk), Ronan Finn, Conor McCormack, Stephen Rice (Shamrock Rovers), Killian Brennan (Bohemians), Ross Gaynor (Dundalk), James McClean (Derry City).

Forwards: Gary Twigg, Karl Sheppard (Shamrock Rovers), Eamon Zayed (Derry City), Jason Byrne (Dundalk), Danny North (St Patrick’s Athletic).

Summer in the City: Inter Milan, Celtic and Man City set for Aviva kickabout >

About the author:

Read next: