This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Friday 18 October, 2019

ROG v Sexton (again!): Out-halves, Ferris longlisted for European prize

Ronan O’Gara, Jonny Sexton and Stephen Ferris have all been named on the 15-man longlist for European Player of the Year.

EUROPEAN RUGBY’S MOST prestigious individual prize could be staying on these shores after three Irish internationals were nominated for this year’s ERC European Rugby Player of the Year award.

Ronan O’Gara, Jonny Sexton and Stephen Ferris have all been named on the 15-man longlist to succeed Sean O’Brien, which was announced by the ERC this afternoon.

The longlist, which recognises players’ contributions in the pool stages of the Heineken Cup and Amlin Challenge Cup, will be whittled down to a final five after the semi-final weekend with the winner due to be announced following the finals.

Winner of the inaugural award in 2010, O’Gara is nominated again after adding another 91 points to his record tally in the pool stages of this season’s Heineken Cup, including back-to-back drop goals to seal last-minute victories for Munster in the first two weeks of the tournament.

Sexton, who played a starring role in Leinster’s wins against Bath, finished the pool stages with 63 points from five starts. Ferris was twice named as man of the match for his performances in the Ulster pack, and got himself on the scoresheet with a try in the win away to Aironi.

Reigning IRB World Player of the Year Thierry Dusautoir is one of four players based in France to make it onto the longlist, with four from England and two apiece from Wales and Scotland also receiving nominations.

The judging panel for the award is: Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports), Raphael Ibanez (Heineken Cup Ambassador), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique) and Gerry Thornley (Irish Times).

ERC European Player of the Year 2012 – longlist

  • Mouritz Botha (Saracens, lock)
  • Mike Brown (Harlequins, full back)
  • Antoine Claassen (Brive, back row)
  • Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, back row)
  • Owen Farrell (Saracens, out half)
  • Stephen Ferris (Ulster, back row)
  • Wesley Fofana (ASM Clermont Auvergne, centre)
  • Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues, prop)
  • Jonny Sexton (Leinster, out-half)
  • Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh, scrum-half/out-half)
  • Timoci Matanavou (Toulouse, wing)
  • Ignacio Mieres (Exeter Chiefs, out-half)
  • Ben Morgan (Scarlets, number eight)
  • Ronan O’Gara (Munster, out-half)
  • Netani Talei (Edinburgh, number eight)

Opinion: Reds must turn tide to overcome underrated Ulster

Ulster ‘worried’ about Ferris ankle injury

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: