Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 18°C Sunday 13 June 2021

Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or to end Messi's run at four

66 goals in 56 games, 2013 was certainly Ronaldo’s year.

Image: Michael Probst/AP/Press Association Images

PORTUGAL’S CRISTIANO RONALDO has this afternoon been announced as the winner of the Ballon D’Or for the second time.

At the ceremony in Zurich today, the Real Madrid star saw off competition from Franck Ribery and Lionel Messi, who has claimed the gong in the four years since Ronaldo’s 2008 win.

Ribery came in third on 23.36% of the vote, Messi was second on 24.72 and Ronaldo won out with 27.99% of the vote.

Ronaldo has finished second in the voting on three occasions to the Argentine, and once more to Kaka who was awarded the Ballon D’Or in 2007.

Coach of the year: Jupp Heynckes.

Puskas Award (best goal): Zlatan.

Women’s Coach of the Year: Silvia Neid.

Women’s Player of the Year: Nadine Angerer.

FIFA FIFPro World XI: Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Dani Alves, Thiago Silva, Sergio Ramos, Anders Iniesta, Franck Ribery, Xavi Hernandez, Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lionel Messi.

Leo Messi continues his ‘brave’ fashion choices with resplendent red suit

There could only be one winner of the 2013 Puskas Award. All hail Zlatan.

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: