This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2019
Advertisement

Cristiano Ronaldo doesn't miss many penalties - but when he does, he really misses

Ronaldo missed a penalty, but scored twice, as Madrid beat Real Sociedad 3-1.

Updated 17.10

CHRISTMAS CAME LATE to the Bernabeu this afternoon as Real Madrid were awarded not one, but two dubious penalties in their 3-1 win over Real Sociedad.

Fortunately for the visitors, referee Jose Luis Gonzalez Gonzalez wasn’t the only one in a charitable mood.

Cristiano Ronaldo skied his first spot-kick over the bar — and it wasn’t even close.

It didn’t take long before Ronaldo was gifted a chance to make amends, and he made no mistake at the second time of asking, firing past Geronimo Rulli for his 13th league goal of the season.

Bruma equalised for Sociedad early in the second half before Ronaldo scored with this sublime volley, and Lucas Vasquez secured the three points late on to temporarily ease the pressure on manager Rafa Benitez.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:

COMMENTS (5)