This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 15 February, 2019

Boost for Ulster as Best and Stockdale set to make first appearances of the season

The pair have been named in the squad to take on Connacht on Friday evening.

Ulster and Ireland captain, Rory Best.
Ulster and Ireland captain, Rory Best.
Image: Inpho/Billy Stickland

RORY BEST AND Jacob Stockdale have given Ulster a timely boost ahead of their inter-provincial clash with Connacht at the Kingspan Stadium on Friday night (KO 7.35pm, eir Sport/Premier Sports).

The pair make their first appearances of the season in the Guinness Pro14 after recovering from respective injuries and take their starting positions in the province’s first home league derby clash of the season.

Best regains the captain’s armband and lines up alongside Tom O’Toole and Andy Warwick in the front row. 

Alan O’Connor and Iain Henderson maintain their second row partnership.

Marcell Coetzee returns from a shoulder injury to line out at number 8 alongside Matthew Rea and Nick Timoney in the back row.

John Cooney and Billy Burns keep their places at half back, while Stuart McCloskey and Angus Curtis line out alongside one another in midfield.

The returning Stockdale partners Angus Kernohan and Peter Nelson to make up the Ulster back three.

Kieran Treadwell could make his 50th appearance for the province as he’s named among the replacements.

Dan McFarland will be looking for a response from his side after their 64-7 thumping at the hands of Munster at Thomond Park last Saturday night.

Source: Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42/SoundCloud


15. Peter Nelson
14. Angus Kernohan
13. Angus Curtis
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Billy Burns
9. John Cooney

1. Andrew Warwick
2. Rory Best
3. Tom O’Toole
4. Alan O’Connor
5. Iain Henderson
6. Matthew Rea
7. Nick Timoney
8. Marcell Coetzee


16 Adam McBurney
17 Eric O’Sullivan
18 Ross Kane
19 Kieran Treadwell
20 Sean Reidy
21 Dave Shanahan
22 Johnny McPhillips
23 James Hume

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel