Donie Smith helped Roscommon into an early lead before his black card. James Crombie/INPHO

Roscommon claim third Connacht U21 title in five years

Leitrim just couldn’t match their semi-final heroics.

Roscommon 0-19

Leitrim 1-3

ROSCOMMON WERE NEVER in trouble at Carrick-on-Shannon as Nigel Dineen’s side claimed their third Connacht under 21 title in five years.

Significant hope and expectation is attached to this crop of Roscommon youngsters and they made a blistering start to drain Leitrim of any confidence.

Leitrim had stunned Galway in the provincial semi-final to post their first win at this grade in 16 years, but Roscommon were ready.

Five early points in a row from Mark Nally, Enda Smith (2), and Donie Smith (2) gave Roscommon a commanding lead they never relinquished.

There was a drop of controversy in the ninth minute when Roscommon’s Donie Smith was black carded and Leitrim improved slightly for a spell.

In the 15th minute Alan McLoughlin blasted a brilliant goal for Leitrim, but Roscommon weren’t too perturbed.

Thomas Corcoran, Diarmuid Murtagh, and substitute Michael Gunning all rifled over points as Ros went in leading 0-11 to 1-2 interval lead.

After the restart Roscommon struck three of the opening four points with the excellent Enda Smith an influential figure.

Smith concluded the contest with a six point haul from play as Roscommon will now await the outcome of next Wednesday’s Munster decider between Tipperary and Cork with interest.

Scorers for Roscommon: Enda Smith 0-6, Diarmuid Murtagh 0-3 (2fs), Donie Smith 0-2, Mark Nally 0-2, Thomas Corcoran 0-2 (1f),Ciaran Kilcline 0-2 (1f), Michael Gunning 0-1, Conor Daly 0-1.
Scorers for Leitrim: Alan McLoughlin 1-1 (1f), Niall Brady 0-2 (2fs).

Roscommon: Colm Lavin; David Murray, Seán Mullooly, Cathal Kenny; John McManus, Fintan Kelly, Conor Daly; Shane Killoran, Thomas Corcoran; Mark Nally, Mark Healy, Enda Smith; Diarmuid Murtagh, Ciaran Kilcline, Donie Smith.

Subs: Michael Gunning for D Smith (9 mins, black card), Fintan Sweeney for Kelly (15 mins), Ultan Harney for Killoran (44 mins), Thomas Featherston for Mullooly (51-58 mins), Ronan Daly for Kenny (54 mins), David Carleton for Murtagh (57 mins), T O’Rourke for Corcoran (57 mins)

Leitrim: Brendan Flynn; Eanna Madden, Niall Woods, Enda Fowley; James Rooney, James Flynn, Killian McGriskin; Donal Wrynn, Felim McHugh; Cian Clinton, Shane Quinn, Nicholas Moore; Tomas Mulvey, Alan McLoughlin, Niall Brady.

Subs: Anthony Mulligan for Moore (30 mins), Ronan Reynolds for J Flynn (46 mins), Ronan Flynn for Wrynn (54 mins), Paddy McHugh for Quinn (56 mins), Padraig Gallagher for Brady (59 mins)

Referee: S Hehir (Galway).

5 talking points ahead of today’s Connacht U21 football final

Bernard Brogan returns for Dublin’s clash with Tyrone

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.