Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Thursday 6 May 2021

Who should win the RTE Sportsperson of the Year award?

It’s been another big year of sport.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

RTÉ HAVE TODAY announced the nominees for their Sportsperson of the Year Award.

After another memorable year of Irish sport, the candidates range from All-Ireland winning hurlers in Joe Canning to world champions like Katie Taylor.

But who do you think should take the top prize?

Poll Results:

  Katie Taylor (2270)
  Joe Canning (1759)
  Conor Murray (1143)
  Paul O’Donovan (946)
  James McClean (800)
  Andy Moran (735)
Rena Buckley (578)
  Robbie Power (246)
  Jason Smyth (218)
  Noelle Healy (150)
  Katie-George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal (121)
 Ryan Burnett (116)
  Joe Ward (106)
 Michael McKillop (73)

The awards will be broadcast live on RTÉ One at 9.15pm on Saturday, 16 December.

Vote for your choice here.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

McGregor will ‘blow through boxing money’ instead of UFC return, claims Woodley

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel