Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
James Crombie/INPHO Harnedy is back in the Cork 15 after missing the
# Ready to go
Cork and Wexford teams confirmed for this evening's qualifier
Seamus Harnedy has been handed the #14 jersey for Saturday’s qualifier.

Updated at 12.09

SEAMUS HARNEDY IS set to start for Cork tonight as the Rebels look to reignite their championship challenge in the qualifiers, while Wexford have also named their starting XV.

Harnedy missed the defeat to Waterford with a recurrence of a hamstring injury but is fit to start at full-forward for the trip to Wexford.

Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s only other personnel change sees Castlemartyr’s Brian Lawton named at wing-forward for the Round 1 qualifier.

With Shane O’Neill ruled out with an ankle injury, Damien Cahalane has been named at corner-back with Aidan Walsh dropping to wing-back and Lawton slotting into the half-forward line.

Meanwhile, for Wexford, Paudie Foley makes his championship debut, Aidan Nolan starts and Daithi Waters drops to the bench.

Kevin Foley, a member of last year’s U21 team, also starts for the first time.

Throw-in at Wexford Park is at 7pm.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)

5. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


16. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)
17. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
18. Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)
19. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
20. Killian Burke (Midleton)
21. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
24. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
25. Andy Walsh (Killeagh)
26. Luke Meade (Newcestown)


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown)

2. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
3. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’)
4. Eoin Moore (Oulart the Ballagh)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Andrew Shore (Davidstown/Courtnacuddy)
6. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
7. Paudie Foley (Foley Crossabeg Ballymurn)

8. David Redmond (Oulart the Ballagh)
9 Aidan Nolan (Half Way House – Bunclody)

10. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Annes)
11. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
12. Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s)

13. Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
15. Liam Og McGovern (St Annes)


16. Niall Breen (Tara Rocks)
17. Jack O’Connor (St Martins)
18. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
19. Ciaran Kenny (Buffers Alley)
20. Willie Devereux (St Martins)
21. Daithi Waters (St Martins)
22. Rory Jacob  (Oulart the Ballagh)
23. Shane Tomkins (Askamore Kilrush)
24. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)
25. Eanna Martin (Sarsfields)
26 Gareth Sinnott (Oulart the Ballagh)

Additional reporting by Paul Fennessy

The back door will slam shut on Cork’s hurlers as they chase All-Ireland glory

Michael Rice returns – but it’s first blood for Galway in a big week against Kilkenny