Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Friday 23 April 2021

Senior star Dowling to captain Limerick U21 team that includes 3 Munster minor winners

Limerick entertain Clare in the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow night at 7.30pm.

Brendan Maher and Padraic Maher with Shane Dowling Shane Dowling hit 2-9 against Tipperary last Sunday. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

SHANE DOWLING WILL captain the Limerick U21 hurling team for tomorrow night’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 quarter-final after hitting 2-9 for the county’s senior side last Sunday.

Dowling was the scoring hero for Limerick in the Munster senior semi-final in Thurles as he notched the key late goal that helped them claim victory.

Now his attention turns to the U21 grade as he is named at centre-forward by manager Ciaran Carey for tomorrow night’s game against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds.

Dowling is joined in the team by his 2013 Munster senior club winning teammates William O’Donoghue and David Dempsey.

Wing-back Dan Morrissey was on the bench for the Limerick senior side last Sunday while Mark Carmody has also been involved in the senior squad this spring. Midfielder Cian Lynch is named on the team despite still being eligible for the minor grade this year.

Lynch is one of three members of the Limerick team that won last year’s Munster minor title to be included in this U21 outfit. Full-back Richie English and wing-forward Dempsey were also on that team.

Limerick's Richard English lifts the cup Richard English lifts the Munster minor trophy after Limerick's title win last year. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

1. Darragh Stapleton (Doon)
2. Mark Callaghan (Knockaderry)
3. Richie English (Doon)
4. Shane Irwin (Bruff)
5. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)
6. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
7. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
8. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
10. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh) – captain
11. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh)
13. Liam O’Sullivan (Knockaderry)
14. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)
15. Pat Ryan (Doon)

Allstars Kelly and Galvin to lead Clare U21 team but Shane O’Donnell is out injured

O’Mahony: ‘We’d no other goal at the start of the year other than beating Tipperary’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: