This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 24 May, 2020

Galway's midfield dominance the platform as they comfortably overcome Sligo

Fiontan O’Curraoin was outstanding for the tribesmen with eight clean catches against Sligo.

Fiontan O'Curraoin for Galway in action.
Fiontan O'Curraoin for Galway in action.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Sligo 0-11

Galway 0-16

SCORES WERE AT a premium in the closing stages at Markeviciz Park, as Galway eased past Sligo into the Connacht final today.

The midfield partnership of Fiontan O’Curraoin and Tom Flynn were integral in a five point win which now sets them up for their first provincial final in five years.

Despite having the wind at their backs in the first 35 minutes, Sligo spurned a number of opportunities leaving them a point in arrears going into the second half.

Sligo captain Adrian Marren, along with sharpshooter David Kelly had been causing the Galway full back line endless problems early on, with Marren managing an inspirational sideline kick in the opening ten minutes.

He followed that up shortly with a 50-metre free, although it was Galway’s Danny Cummins who really caught the eye in the opening half with three points from play.

Gary O'Donnell and David Kelly Sligo persisted in hitting David Kelly with high balls. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway continued to dominate around the middle after the interval, thanks to the fielding of O’Curraoin and Eddie Hoare, along with the distribution of Tom Flynn.

Hoare grabbed the first point of the second half, a half in which centre forward Shane Walsh was the catalyst in a 15 minute spell in which he scored four of Galway’s five points.

As the Sligo heads dropped, manager Pat Flanagan made a number of changes but he could not buy a score as Sligo continued to kick wides and turnover possession.

Paul Conroy was introduced after fifteen minutes as Galway successfully slowed down proceedings winning at a canter in the end.

Mayo are up next, as Alan Mulholland’s team go in search of their first Connacht title in six years.

Scorers for Sligo: Adrian Marren 0-4 (2f  1 sideline); Mark Breheny 0-2; David Kelly, Shane McManus, Pat Hughes, Niall Murphy, Kevin McDonnell, 0-1 each.
Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-6 (0-2f 0-1 45); Danny Cummins 0-4;  Michael Martin (1f), Eddie Hoare 0-2 each; Michael Lundy, Damien Comer 0-1 each.

Damien Comer takes to the bench Damien Comer was a late Galway call-up for the injured James Kavanagh. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Aidan Devaney (Calry /St.Josephs)
2. Ross Donovan (Eastern Harps)
3. Johnny Martyn (St.Mary’s)
4. Neil Ewing (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)
5. Charlie Harrison (St.John’s)
6. Adrian McIntyre (Tourlestrane)
7. Keelan Cawley (Coolera/Strandhill)
8. James Kilcullen (Ballaghaderreen)
9. Shane McManus (Geevagh)
10. David Rooney (St.John’s)
11. Mark Breheny (St. Mary’s)
12. Brendan Egan (St Vincent’s)
13. Pat Hughes (Geevagh)
14. Adrian Marren (Curry)
15. David Kelly (Tubbercurry)


18. Brian Curran (Tubbercurry) for Harrison (38)
20. Kevin McDonnell (Castleconnor) for McManus (49)
22. Niall Murphy (Coolera/Strandhill) for Rooney (54)
23. Stephen Coen (St.Marys) for Hughes (54)
17. Garreth Ryan (St. Farnans) for Martyn (62)
24. Eoin McHugh (St. Molaise Gaels) for Brehony (64)


1. Manus Breathnach  (An Spideal)
2. Donal O’Neill (Cortoon Shamrocks)
3. Finian Hanley (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
4. Aongus Tierney (Tuam Stars)
5. Garreth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
6. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
7. Paul Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
8. Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Michael Breathnach)
9. Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
10. Michael Lundy (Corofin)
11. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)
24. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
13. Michael Martin (Milltown)
14. Eddie Hoare (St Michael’s)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)


26. Paul Conroy (St. James’) for Hoare (53)
25. Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks) for Martin (58)
23. Sean Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra) for Cummins (61)
22. John O’Brien (Clifden) for Comer (64)
20. Cathal Mulryan (Cortoon) for Lundy (70)

Mick O’Dwyer on 3 great years with Laois and why ‘Kerry will be there or thereabouts’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: