Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Wednesday 3 March 2021

St Loman's progress to first Leinster senior final where boss Dempsey prepares to face former side

The Westmeath champions scored a narrow victory over Simonstown.

Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

St Loman’s (Westmeath) 0-13
Simonstown Gaels (Meath) 1-08

Conor McKenna reports from TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar

ST LOMAN’S ADVANCED to face Moorefield in the Leinster Final, after a narrow 0-13 to 1-8 victory over Simonstown, in what was a scrappy encounter in TEG Cusack Park.

Simonstown opened the scoring with a free from Padraig McKeever in the first minute and a disputed score from Nathan O’Brien doubled the Navan outfit’s advantage.

Mark McCabe then got the game’s first goal when he finished from close range, with an excellent finish, after a wonderful move involving Nathan O’Brien, Niall Kane and McCabe.

Brian Conlon followed up with a fisted effort, before an excellent point from Padraig McGeever gave Colm O’Rourke’s charges a 1-4 to 0-0 lead after 15 minutes.

St. Loman’s responded well though and the gap was a mere three points at half time, with Simonstown leading on a scoreline of 1-6 to 0-6.

A rejuvenated St. Loman’s came out in the second half, scoring the first six points of the half to turn a three point deficit into a three point lead.

Points from Shane O’Rourke and Conor Sheridan reduced the deficit to a single point with 54 played and at this stage it really was anybody’s game.

Kieran Lynam’s fisted effort restored his sides advantage and gave Loman’s a two point lead they would never relinquish, as the Westmeath champions advanced to face Moorefield in the Leinster Final.

The Leinster Final will be an intriguing day for Loman’s boss Luke Dempsey, who managed Moorefield in 2013 and 2014 and will now be attempting to plot their downfall in the Final in two weeks’ time.

Scorers for St. Loman’s: John Heslin 0-6 (5f), Paul Sharry (1f) and Shane Dempsey 0-2 each, Conradh Reilly 0-1 Kieran Lynam 0-1 and Ken Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Simonstown: Mark McCabe 1-0, Padraig McGeever (1f) Nathan O’Brien 0-2 each, Brian Conlon Sean Tobin, Shane O’Rourke and Conor Sheridan 0-1 each.

St. Loman’s

1. Jason Daly

2. Neil O’Toole
3. Jason O’Toole
4. Gerry Grehan

5. Gary Glennon
6. Paddy Dowdall
18. Ciaran Kilmurray

8. Paul Sharry
9. Sean Flanagan

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Kelvin Reilly
11. Ronan O’Toole
12. David Windsor

13. Ken Casey
14. John Heslin
15. Shane Dempsey

17. Kieran Lynam for Ciaran Kilmurray (28),
21. Conradh Reilly for Sean Flanagan (B/C, 36),
19. Gareth Hickey for David Windsor (51),
7. David Whelan for Neil O’Toole (59),
20. Billy O’Loughlin for Ken Casey (65).


1. Robbie Burlingham

2. Shane Gallagher
3. Stephen Moran
4. Niall McMahon

5. Brian McGrath
6. Brian Conlon
7. Niall Kane

8. Shane O’Rourke
9. James Kilcullen

10. Sean Tobin
11. Seamus Kenny
12. Mark McCabe

13. Nathan O’Brien
14. Conor Sheridan
15. Padraig McKeever

17. Mark Gardiner for Niall McMahon (45),
23. Joe Lyons for Seamus Kenny (45),
22. Nicky O’Brien for James Kilcullen (51),
20. Michael Brennan for Conor Sheridan (55),
19. Shane Barry for Sean Tobin (58),

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Kerry’s An Ghaeltacht back on All-Ireland hunt after 22-point Munster football final success

0-10 for Connolly as Nemo lift Munster football title and stun All-Ireland holders Dr Crokes

About the author:

Conor McKenna

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel