Dublin: 13°C Sunday 22 May 2022

St Thomas' win in Clones

St Thomas’ and Loughgiel Shamrocks produced another smashing contest with the Galway Champions prevailing in Clones.

St Thomas James Regan and Tony McCloskey of Loughgiel Shamrocks.
St Thomas James Regan and Tony McCloskey of Loughgiel Shamrocks.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

St Thomas’ 0-15
Loughgiel Shamrocks 0-7

St Thomas’, inspired by the excellent Bernard Burke, won a thrilling All Ireland semi-final replay in Clones.

In a smashing encounter packed with incident and drama Thomas’ overcame a shaky start to dethrone the All Ireland champions.

Loughgiel Shamrocks missed three great goal chances in the first seven minutes and they were eventually punished by a rapidly improving Thomas’ outfit.

Benny McCarry spurned two, while Loughiel talisman Liam Watson dragged an effort wide in the early exchanges.

Relieved to be still in the reckoning Thomas’ improved as the first half wore on with points from Kenneth Burke, David Burke, and Conor Cooney edging them 0-5 to 0-2 ahead by the 17th minute.

Watson hit two frees to trim the deficit, but impressive Thomas’ substitute Eanna Burke landed a fine score from distance.

Eddie McCloskey then clipped Loughgiel’s only score from play in the game as Thomas’ went in 0-6 to 0-5 ahead at the interval.

A Watson free put Loughiel level immediately after the restart, but Thomas hit eight points on the spin to seize control.

Cooney (4), man of the match Bernard Burke (3), and Richie Murray all found the range for John Burke’s side.

Watson ended a 26 minute search for a Loughgiel score with a free, but Cooney hit back and Thomas’ emerged convincing victors.

Thomas’ now face Offaly and Leinster standard bearers Kilcormac-Killoughey in a St Patrick’s Day decider at Croke Park.

Scorers for St Thomas: Conor Cooney (0-6, 3fs, 165), Bernard Burke (0-4), Kenneth Burke (0-1), James Regan (0-1), Eanna Burke (0-1), Richie Murray (0-1), David Burke (0-1).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Scorers for Loughgiel Shamrocks: Liam Watson (0-6, 6fs), Eddie McCloskey (0-1).

St Thomas’: Patrick Skehill; Cathal Burke, Sean Skehill, Sean Burke; Enda Tannion, Darragh Burke, Robert Murray; James Regan , David Burke; Shane Cooney, Conor Cooney, Bernard Burke (0-4); Kenneth Burke, Richie Murray, Anthony Kelly.

Subs: Eanna Burke for Tannion (23 mins), Gerald Murray for K Burke (44 mins), David Sherry for Kelly (54 mins).

Loughgiel Shamrocks: Damian Quinn; Paul Gillan, Neil McGarry, Mark McFadden; James Campbell, Martin Scullion, Johnny Campbell; Barney McAuley, Tony McCloskey; Joey Scullion, Declan Laverty, Eddie McCloskey; Benny McCarry, Liam Watson, Shay Casey.

Subs: Odhran McFadden for McAuley (41), Seamus Dobbin for Laverty (46 )

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

Read next: