Stephen White will start at right half-back for Cork. INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
Team news

White to start for Cork, as O'Dwyer named in Tipperary lineup

The youngster has extensive experience with the side at underage level.

CORK BOSS JIMMY Barry-Murphy has handed a starting berth to newcomer Stephen White for Saturday’s Allianz HL Division 1A clash against Tipperary.

Ballygarvan player White will line out at right half-back for the clash in Páirc Uí Rinn.

White has extensive experience with Cork at underage level while he impressed in the Fitzgibbon Cup for Cork IT and won the man-of-the-match award in last year’s final.

Daniel Kearney and Stephen Moylan both featured in last year’s championship campaign but will now be making their first league starts at midfield and corner-forward respectively.

Cork captain Patrick Cronin is suspended for the game as a result of a retrospective ban dating back to last August’s All-Ireland semi-final against Galway while attacker Jamie Coughlan is sidelined for ten weeks with a hip operation.

Meanwhile, the Tipperary side includes one league debutant – John O’Dwyer of Killenaule.

In addition, Paddy Stapleton returns after numerous injury troubles in recent times, while Brendan Cummins also starts, nearly 20 years after making his league debut against Waterford.

CORK: Anthony Nash (Kanturk); Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); Stephen White (Ballygarvan), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), William Egan (Kilbrin); Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk); Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne), Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), Conor Lehane (Midleton); Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Luke O’Farrell (Midleton), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers).

Subs: Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle), Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers), Killian Murphy (Erins Own), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Tom Kenny (Grenagh), Michael Walsh (Kildorrery), Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline), Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), Brian Hartnett (Midleton), Peter O’Brien (Kildorrery), Adrian Mannix (Kilworth).

TIPPERARY: Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon Grange); Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Conor O’Brien (Eire Og Annacarty Donohill); Donagh Maher (Burgess), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh); Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) Captain, Johnny Ryan (Drom and Inch); Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch), Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Patrick Maher (Lorrha and Dorrha); Shane Bourke (JK Brackens), Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule).

Additional reporting by Paul Fennessy

Take Five – Sigerson Cup semi-finals take centre stage>

English set for third-level examination>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.