Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Thursday 6 May 2021

Dundalk dominate shortlists for end-of-season awards

Stephen Kenny is up against three of his former Lilywhites players for SWAI Personality of the Year.

Stephen Kenny and Patrick Hoban.
Stephen Kenny and Patrick Hoban.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

THE SOCCER WRITERS’ Association of Ireland have announced the nominees for their end-of-season awards.

Having wrestled the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division and the FAI Cup back from rivals Cork City in 2018, Dundalk are unsurprisingly well-represented on both shortlists. 

Three Lilywhites players — Chris Shields, Pat Hoban and Michael Duffy — are up for Personality of the Year along with former manager Stephen Kenny, who recently left his post to take over Ireland’s U21s. 

Bohemians boss Keith Long and UCD’s Collie O’Neill also feature. 

Meanwhile, Dundalk stopper Gary Rogers will compete against the recently-retired Shane Supple (Bohemians) and Cork City’s Mark McNulty for Goalkeeper of the Year . 

The winners will be announced at the SWAI’s annual banquet on Friday, 11 January. 

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Personality of the year

  • Chris Shields (Dundalk)
  • Stephen Kenny (Dundalk)
  • Pat Hoban (Dundalk) 
  • Michael Duffy (Dundalk)
  • Keith Long (Bohemians)
  • Collie O’Neill (UCD) 

Goalkeeper of the year

  • Gary Rogers (Dundalk) 
  • Shane Supple (Bohemians)
  • Mark McNulty (Cork City) 

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel