This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 23 March, 2019

Tipp side bidding to rebound from Cork loss includes 3 championship newcomers

Westmeath have also named their team for the clash at Semple Stadium on Saturday.

Tomás Hamill
Tomás Hamill
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Updated at 12.30

TIPPERARY SENIOR HURLING manager Michael Ryan has made six changes in personnel to his team for Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier against Westmeath at Semple Stadium in Thurles (5.00pm).

The defending All-Ireland champions, who suffered a Munster quarter-final defeat to Cork last month, will hand championship debuts to goalkeeper Daragh Mooney and defenders Tomás Hamill and Joe O’Dwyer.

Mooney replaces Darren Gleeson, while Hamill comes in at full-back. James Barry moves to left corner-back, with John O’Keeffe not included. Donagh Maher starts in the right corner in place of Cathal Barrett, who’s been dropped from the panel. O’Dwyer takes the place of Seamus Kennedy at right half-back.

The other changes are in attack. Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher returns at centre-forward at the expense of Sean Curran, while left corner-forward John McGrath has been left out, with Niall O’Meara coming in.


1. Daragh Mooney (Eire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)

2. Donagh Maher (Burgess)
3. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
4. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)

5. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields — captain)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. Michael Breen (Ballina)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)


1. Paddy Carroll

2. Shane Power
3. Tommy Doyle
4. Gary Greville

5. Aaron Craig
6. Paul Greville
7. Liam Varley

8. Aonghus Clarke
9. Robbie Greville

10. Joey Boyle
11. Killian Doyle
12. Derek McNicholas

13. Allan Devine
14. Niall Mitchell
15. Niall O’Brien

Tipp and Cork to meet again in 48 hours after extra-time thriller in Thurles

‘There’s still plenty of slagging going on between players from different counties on Snapchat’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel