This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018


37,283 Views 11 Comments

Hello and welcome to Croke Park for the All-Ireland SHC semi-final between Tipperary and Galway. The sides are in the parade and we’re moments away from throw-in.

Who do you fancy to win it?

Here’s how the teams line out:


1. Darren Gleeson – Portroe

2. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
4. Michael Cahill – Thurles Sarsfields

5. Seamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s
6. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields

8. Brendan Maher (Capt.) – Borris-Ileigh
9. Michael Breen – Ballina

10. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
11. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
12. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney

13. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
14. Seamus Callanan – Drom & Inch
15. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs


1. Colm Callanan — Kinvara

2. Johnny Coen — Loughrea
3. John Hanbury — Rahoon-Newcastle
4. Padraic Mannion — Ahascragh-Fohenagh

5. Gearóid McInerney — Oranmore-Maree
6. Daithí Burke — Turloughmore
7. Aidan Harte — Gort

8. David Burke — St Thomas’
9. Adrian Tuohy — Beagh

10. Conor Cooney — St Thomas’
11. Joseph Cooney — Sarsfields
12.Joe Canning — Portumna

13. Conor Whelan — Kinvara
14. Cathal Mannion — Ahascragh-Fohenagh
15. Jason Flynn — Tommy Larkin’s

2 mins – Tipperary 0-1 Galway 0-1 

Joe Canning with a brilliant opening score for Galway. Noel McGrath levels for Tipp.

CHANCE! Joe Canning had a hint of a goal opportunity but his shot is saved by Darren Gleeson. Then he flicks the ball over the head of a Galway forward and clears.

3 mins – Tipperary 0-2 Galway 0-1 

Michael Breen puts Tipp in front.

3 mins – Tipperary 0-2 Galway 0-2

Jason Flynn finds Conor Whelan who points.


9mins – Tipperary 0-4 Galway 1-3

Conor Cooney hits the net to leave Galway in control! He adds a point minutes later. At the other end Noel McGrath hits the crossbar!

12 mins – Tipperary 0-6 Galway 1-3

Callanan sends over another free for Tipp.

13 mins – Tipperary 0-7 Galway 1-3

Callanan’s shooting is on point today. He adds another free to put Tipp in front.

13 mins – Tipperary 0-8 Galway 1-3

Noel McGrath drills over a fine point from long range. Tipperary have responded well to that Galway goal.

14 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-3

John McGrath gets his name on the score-sheet.

16 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-4

Canning nails a close-range free. Galway needed that.

19 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-5

Callanan puts a free wide from inside his own half. He then signals over to the line for a new pair of boots. Meanwhile Canning scores a free.

22 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-6

Tipp conceded a couple of frees and a 65 to let Galway back into it. Canning has applies the afters to those three placed balls.

Canning gets nailed underneath the Hogan Stand by Padraic Maher and Tipp are awarded the line ball. Maher is replaced by Tomas Hamill while Canning is replaced by Andrew Smith. Both are blood subs.

25 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-7

Galway lead again thanks to an inspriational point from Galway captain Daithi Burke.

26 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-8

Joseph Cooney strokes a wonder score over his shoulder while Canning returns to the field to a huge ovation by the Galway support.

Maher is back on too.

29 mins – Tipperary 0-9 Galway 1-9

James Barry concedes a harsh free, allowing Canning to convert the free. Galway are three in front.

Tipperary are conceding way too many cheap frees. Canning will score them all day.

That’s six points for Canning, including five frees.

31 mins – Tipperary 0-10 Galway 1-9

Callanan just about sneaks a free over.

32 mins – Tipperary 0-10 Galway 1-9

Outstanding hook by Cathal Barrett on Conor Cooney when a goal beckoned for Galway.

Joe Canning looks in big trouble with a leg injury. It’s extremely unlikely he’ll return for the second half.

39 mins – Tipperary 0-14 Galway 1-11

Jason Flynn and Michael Breen trade scores.

41 mins – Tipperary 0-15 Galway 1-11

Colm Callanan makes a brilliant save from John McGrath’s close-range shot on goal. Callanan converts the 65 for his eighth point. Tipp edge back in front.

42 mins – Tipperary 0-14 Galway 1-12

Conor Cooney as assumed Galway’s free-taking responsibilities. He sends over a placed ball.


GOAL! Conor Cooney rips a rasper past Darren Gleeson after intercepting a loose Tipp handpass. What a goal!

44 mins – Tipperary 0-15 Galway 2-12

Tipp are going direct but Galway are double-marking Seamus Callanan. They’ve dealt with those high balls well so far.

John O’Dwyer is in for Tipperary. He replaces Niall O’Meara.

46 mins – Tipperary 0-16 Galway 2-12

Brendan Maher hits another wide for Tipp. They need to settle a little bit and try to find Callanan with better ball.

48 mins – Tipperary 0-16 Galway 2-12

The referee brings it back for a free just inside Tipp’s own 65 but Callanan sends it wide. That’s their sixth of the match.


48 mins – Tipperary 0-18 Galway 2-12

Noel McGrath drives one over from the sideline! Ronan Maher follows it up with another one from distance seconds later! Tipperary are showing life!

Another Tipp wide, this time a first from Cathal Barrett. We’re still level.

52 mins – Tipperary 0-18 Galway 2-13

Cooney converts the free. We’re in for a massive last quarter here in Croker.

53 mins – Tipperary 0-18 Galway 2-14

Andrew Smith finds Conor Whelan with a lovely pass. Whelan applies the finish. Two quick scores from Galway there. They lead by two.

55 mins – Tipperary 0-19 Galway 2-14

Paudie Maher lands over a mammoth score! This is a super game.

Jason Forde has replaced Noel McGrath for Tipp.

58 mins – Tipperary 0-19 Galway 2-15

Cooney nails another free. That’s 1-4 for him so far.

62mins – Tipperary 1-19 Galway 2-16

John Hanbury’s slip proved crucial there as John McGrath fielded a ball over his head and passed to O’Dwyer who finished from a tight angle.

Galway have responded with a point by Cooney. The sides are level for a ninth time.

63mins – Tipperary 2-19 Galway 2-16

Bonner Maher and Seamus Callanan combined to set-up McGrath who found himself unmarked in front of the Galway goals. Tipp are really rolling now!

64 mins – Tipperary 2-19 Galway 2-17

Cyril Donnellan wins a free for Galway. It’s a simple tap-over for Cooney. We have a two point game once again.

Conor Whelan is replaced by Shane Moloney. Cathal Mannion comes off for Niall Burke.

Moloney was the hero in this game last year. Can he repeat the trick?

Michael Donoghue rolls the dice with those two substitutions.

David Collins replaces Aidan Harte on the Galway side.

For Tipp, Sean Curran is in for Michael Breen.

68 mins – Tipperary 2-19 Galway 2-17

Cooney puts a free from inside his own half wide. Two minutes left…

We’ll have just two minutes of added time.

71 mins – Tipperary 2-19 Galway 2-18

Maloney reduces the gap to one.


Full-time: Tipperary 2-19 Galway 2-18

Tipperary are into the All-Ireland hurling final!

Nine times they were level throughout this game! What a game! Galway will be heartbroken after such a spirited display.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien