This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 23 February, 2020

Tipperary hurlers hand debuts to Quinn and McCormack for Dublin clash

Throw-in is 7pm for Saturday night’s Division 1A opener in Semple Stadium.

TIPEPRARY HAVE HANDED debuts to newcomers Daire Quinn and Dan McCormack for Saturday night’s Allianz hurling league opener against Dublin.

Quinn starts at midfield after impressing last year on the Nenagh Éire Óg team that reached the Tipperary senior hurling decider and winning a Fitzgibbon Cup medal with UL.

Daire Quinn 18/2/2015 Daire Quinn pictured in action for UL last year. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

McCormack is one of three Borris-Ileigh players in the starting fifteen. He has plenty recent underage experience with Tipperary and won Fitzgibbon Cup medals with UCC in 2012 and 2013.

Dan McCormack 16/7/2014 Dan McCormack is a new addition to the Tipperary senior hurling team. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Noel McGrath is a notable inclusion from the start in the full-forward line after his battle with cancer last year and his brother John is also handed a starting place.

Noel McGrath Noel McGrath is a welcome return to the Tipperary starting ranks. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

There are survivors from the starting fifteen for last August’s All-Ireland semi-final loss to Galway in Darren Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, Brendan Maher, James Barry, Padraic Maher, Patrick Maher and Jason Forde.

The team in full is:


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – captain)
6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Michael Breen (Ballina)
9. Daire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

16. Darragh Mooney (Eire Óg Annacarty)
17. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
18. Willie Ryan (Clonakenny)
19. Liam Ryan (Drom & Inch)
20. John Meagher (Loughmore Castleiney)
21. Joe Gallagher (Kildangan)
22. Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
23. Dylan Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs)
24. Sean Ryan (Sean Treacy’s)
25. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Eire Óg)
26. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

No room for excuses as Clare hurlers seek to recapture past glories

Longford soccer club hit out at GAA over fine for hosting Jamie Carragher soccer school

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel