Wednesday 8 February 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Conor Sweeney scored seven points tonight (file pic).
# Saturday Night Fever
Tipperary earn priceless win to boost promotion hopes at the expense of Laois
Conor Sweeney starred for the visitors as they bounced back from defeat to Sligo last time out.

Tipperary 1-16

Laois 1-10

Jackie Cahill reports from O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

CONOR SWEENEY SCORED seven points and Kevin O’Halloran was credited with a bizarre late goal as Tipperary earned a priceless victory against Laois in Division 3 of the Allianz Football League this evening.

The visitors, who had an excellent display from midfielder Jack Kennedy on his full League debut, bounced back from their defeat against Sligo last time out to boost their promotion hopes considerably.

For Laois, managed by former Tipp boss Peter Creedon, this is a setback after they came from behind to see off Armagh in their previous game but the Premier County were full value for the win.

Laois, missing a number of key players and now in a relegation fight, had key forward Donie Kingston black-carded in the second half but they were in the hunt when David Conway goaled nine minutes from time, after Liam Casey was turned over.

But credit to Casey for knocking over Tipp’s next point and the Cahir man also executed a couple of vital interceptions down the home straight.

Six minutes from time, sub Liam McGrath did brilliantly to set up a chance for Josh Keane, superb throughout, but his shot was smothered by Graham Brody.

But two minutes into stoppage time, Tipp’s goal did come when O’Halloran’s long-range free was dropped over his own line by Laois defender Darren Strong.

Tipperary, who lost All-Star Michael Quinlivan to a head injury, led by 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time, but the visitors were 0-6 to 0-1 clear by the 18th minute.

Kingston kicked Laois in front with an early free but a run of six points without reply boosted Tipp’s challenge – Sweeney accounting for four of those.

Laois, who registered seven first half wides, went 16 minutes without a score until Colm Begley slotted over a classy score and that was followed up by points from Niall Donoher and a Donie Kingston free.

Philip Austin ended a 14-minute barren spell for Tipperary with a point approaching half-time but Kingston (one from play and one free) had Laois in touch at the break.

Indeed, the full-forward could have equalised before the interval but after scooting past Paddy Codd, he sent a tame, left-footed effort into the grateful arms of Evan Comerford.

Tipp, fielding Casey and Kennedy in midfield, went with a short kick-out strategy to maintain possession and for the most part, this tactic worked well.

Content to build from the back, Tipp worked the ball well through the lines and they had a man of the match display from captain Brian Fox.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Sweeney 0-7 (5f), Kevin O’Halloran 1-0f, Philip Austin 0-2, Kevin Fahey, Emmet Moloney, Jimmy Feehan, Josh Keane (f), Liam McGrath, Brian Fox & Liam Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Laois: David Conway 1-2 (0-1f), Donal Kingston 0-5 (3f), Colm Begley, John O’Loughlin & Niall Donoher 0-1 each.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)

20. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

22. Liam Casey (Cahir)
23. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
17. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)


Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

11. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) for Quinlivan (inj., 25)
5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for Connors (61)
18. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers) for Casey (66)
21. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers) for Austin (69)
8. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers) for Kennedy (70)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers) for O’Halloran (70+4).


1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. Darren Strong (Emo)
3. Denis Booth (The Heath)
4. James Kelly (St Joseph’s)

5. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)
6. Colm Begley (Stradbally)
7. Eoin Buggie (Stradbally)

8. Danny Luttrell (Courtwood)
9. Seán Ramsbottom (Timahoe)

10. Daniel O’Reilly (Graiguecullen)
11. David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise)
12. Niall Donoher (Courtwood)

13. John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s, Dublin)
14. Donal Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
15. Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)


26. Alan Farrell (Ballylinan) for Ramsbottom (40)
20. Eoin Lowry (Killeshin) for O’Reilly (48)
22. Ruairi O’Connor (Timahoe) for Donoher (55)
24. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise) for P Kingston (59)
19. James Finn (Ballyfin) for D Kingston (b/c 59)
18. Gareth Dillon (Portlaoise) for Luttrell (65)

Referee: Niall McKenna (Monaghan).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kingpins Cork move clear on top of table, while Waterford lead the way in Division 2

St Brendan’s win battle of the Kingdom as minor stars’ goals key to retaining Corn Ui Mhuiri

Your Voice
Readers Comments