Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Seven changes for Tipp ahead of Waterford clash in Semple Stadium

Right corner-back Cathal Barrett is set to make his league debut for Eamon O’Shea’s side.

Brendan Maher captains the side from midfield.
Brendan Maher captains the side from midfield.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

TIPPERARY MANAGER EAMON O’Shea has made seven changes to the side that powered to Waterford Crystal Cup success against Clare last weekend as they prepare to face Waterford in the Allianz Hurling League on Saturday.

Right corner-back Cathal Barrett, playing out of the Holycross-Ballycahill club, will make his league debut for the Premier County. Conor O’Mahony comes into the team at left corner-back, while Padraic Maher is picked in the half-back line.

Brendan Maher is selected in midfield – from where he captains Tipp – alongside James Woodlock. Jason Forde, Paddy Murphy and John O’Dwyer make up the full-forward line, with Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath and Kieran Bergin behind them.

The Division 1A opener takes place at Semple Stadium, Thurles at 7.00pm on Saturday.

Tipperary (v Waterford): Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett, Conor O’Mahony, Michael Cahill; Shane McGrath, Padraic Maher, Conor O’Brien; Brendan Maher (captain), James Woodlock; Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath, Kieran Bergin; Jason Forde, Paddy Murphy, John O’Dwyer.

O’Shea has also named his 26-man panel for the league campaign, although this selection is subject to alterations as required during the group phase of the competition.

Tipperary Senior Hurling panel: Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), Darragh Egan (Kildangan), Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Tomas Hamill (Killea), Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone), Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh), Brendan  Maher (Borris-Ileigh – Captain), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Noel  McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Eire Og), Conor O Brien (Eire Og Annacarty), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule),  Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch).

Walsh to make Cork senior hurling debut as JBM names 10 of All-Ireland side

Dublin’s Kevin O’Brien suffers serious knee injury in Sigerson game

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: