This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 0 °C Sunday 17 November, 2019

4 senior hurlers and one senior footballer in Tipp U21 team to play Limerick

Gaelic Grounds is the venue at 7.30pm.

Colin O'Riordan 16/7/2014 Colin O'Riordan is named to start for Tipperary. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

TIPPERARY HAVE NAMED four current senior hurlers and one senior footballer in their side to face Limerick in tomorrow night’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling semi-final.

Full-back Michael Breen, wing-back Ronan Maher, centre-back Barry Heffernan and midfielder Bill Maher were all members of the Tipperary senior panel that lifted the Munster title last Sunday.

Michael Breen celebrates a score Michael Breen celebrates a point for Tipperary last Sunday Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Full-forward Colin O’Riordan is a key part of the Tipperary senior football side that take on Tyrone in next Saturday’s qualifier.

Manager TJ Connolly has eight of last years first fifteen at his disposal as his side sets out to reach the Munster decider.

Maher, O’Riordan, Paul Shanahan and John McGrath were all part of the Tipperary U21 football side that reached the All-Ireland final in May against Tyrone.

Goalkeeper Paul Maher was between the posts when UL won the Fitzgibbon Cup while John McGrath was also on that victorious team. Defenders Tom Fox and Tomás Hamill were part of the WIT side that lost that third-level decider.

Ger Teehan tackles John McGrath John McGrath in action for UL in the Fitzgibbon Cup final. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Paul Maher (Moyne Templetuohy)

2. Jack Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
3. Michael Breen (Ballina)
4. Tom Fox (Eire Óg Anacarty)

5. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
6. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
7. Tomás Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)

8. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)
9. Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

10. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
11. Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch Drombane)
12. Willie Connors (Kildangan)

13. Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan)
14. Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)

Tipperary’s ‘Dyson hoover’ could be out of hurling for a month, team-mate reveals

The 2015 championship has claimed its first high-profile managerial casualty

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: