Tipperary include senior hurler and senior footballer in U21 side for Munster semi-final

Ronan Maher and Josh Keane bring experience to the Premier ranks.

Ronan Maher and Josh Keane both start for Tipperary U21's tomorrow night.
Ronan Maher and Josh Keane both start for Tipperary U21's tomorrow night.

TIPPERARY HAVE INCLUDED a senior hurling defender and a senior football forward in their team for tomorrow night’s Bord Gáis Munster U21 hurling semi-final against Limerick.

Ronan Maher captains the team from centre-back, fresh from helping Tipperary win the Munster senior hurling title last Sunday against Waterford. This is Maher’s fourth year in action at this grade.

Josh Keane is selected at left half-forward, he played for Tipperary in last Sunday week’s Munster senior football final against Kerry.

Full-back Tom Fox and wing-back Barry Heffernan are both in action for their third successive year at this level.

Fox, Maher, Heffernan, Billy McCarthy and Willie Connors all started in last July’s Munster semi-final defeat to Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

Keane, Jack Shelley, Andrew Coffey and Paul Maher all came on as substitutes in that game.


1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha

2. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
3. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
4. David Sweeney – Kildangan

5. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
6. Ronan Maher (Captain) – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacys

8. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg

10. Jack Shelly – Mullinahone
11. Stephen Quirke – Moyle Rovers
12. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle

13. Conor Lanigan – Thurles Sarsfields
14. Mark Russell – Lattin Cullen
15. Willie Connors – Kildangan

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Savouring being a Munster champion with his brothers after a tough 2015

One change to Limerick U21 team as 5 senior players included for Tipp clash

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: