Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 15 May 2021

Tipperary thrash Waterford by 22 points to book Munster semi-final against Kerry

The sides met at Semple and Peter Creedon’s men were too strong.

Tipperary's Steven O'Brien and Waterford's Tommy Prendergast.
Tipperary's Steven O'Brien and Waterford's Tommy Prendergast.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Tipperary 1-24
Waterford 0-5

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

PETER CREEDON’S TIPPERARY have demolished Waterford by 22 points this afternoon to book their place in the semi-finals of the Munster senior football championship.

Tipp will face provincial and All-Ireland champions Kerry in a fortnight’s time after inflicting a massive defeat on hapless Waterford.

Tipp had ten different scorers on the day as they ran riot to claim a win that will have made the Kingdom sit up and take notice.

The only black spot on a bright afternoon for Tipperary was the sight of U21 star and 2014 Allstar nominee Colin O’Riordan hobbling off with a hip injury in the second half.

Despite playing against the breeze in the first half, the hosts led by 1-13 to 0-3 at the break, with six different players contributing to the scoresheet.

Steven O’Brien was immense at midfield for the Premier County, clipping over three points in each half, but he wasn’t alone as the hosts swamped outclassed Waterford with hard running from all areas of the pitch.

Tipp’s goal was scored by Michael Quinlivan in the 25th minute, as the Commercials forward fisted home from close range after Conor Sweeney’s attempted point from a free struck the upright.

As Tipp ran riot, Waterford managed just three points in the first half, two from Michael O’Halloran and a JJ Hutchinson free.

Tipp led by six points before Waterford managed their first score, popped over by O’Halloran in the 13th minute.

But Tipp’s goal increased the daylight between the teams and Creedon’s slick charges could have one or two more.

In front of 1641 spectators, Tipp picked up where they had left off after half-time, registering the first five scores of the second half.

Peter Acheson, O’Brien, Austin, Seamus Kennedy and George Hannigan were all on target before Waterford stalwart Shane Briggs, beginning his 14th championship campaign, opened Waterford’s second half account in the 51st minute.

But Tom McGlinchey’s desperately poor Waterford managed just one more point for the remainder of the game, a Hutchinson free, as Tipp piled on the misery.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Quinlivan 1-3 (0-1f), Steven O’Brien 0-6, Brian Fox, Philip Austin & Conor Sweeney (2f) 0-3 each, George Hannigan 0-2, Seamus Kennedy, Peter Acheson, Ger Mulhaire & Jason Lonergan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Michael O’Halloran & JJ Hutchinson (2f), 0-2 each, Shane Briggs 0-1.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Paddy Codd (c) (Killenaule)
3. Ciarán McDonald (Aherlow)
4. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)

7. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
6. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)
5. Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

12. Ger Mulhaire (Arravale Rovers)
10. Colin O’Riordan (J K Brackens)
11. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)


24. Jason Lonergan (Commercials) for O’Riordan (42)
21. Barry Grogan (Aherlow) for Quinlivan (44)
22. Liam Casey (Cahir) for Sweeney (58)
23. Brian Mulvihill (Moyle Rovers) for Fox (58)
18. Andrew Morrissey (Galtee Rovers) for Acheson (64)
26. Sean Flynn (Fr. Sheehy’s) for Mulhaire (66).


1. Sean Barron (Ardmore)

5. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin (An Rinn)
3. Thomas O’Gorman (c) (Nire)
7. Maurice O’Gorman (Nire)

2. Dean Crowley (St Saviours)
4. Shane Briggs (Ballinacourty)
6. Liam Lawlor (Nire)

11. Patrick Hurney (Ballinacourty)
8. Tommy Prendergast (Kilrossanty)

13. Mark Ferncombe (Ballincourty)
9. Michael O’Halloran (Ballinacourty)
14. JJ Hutchinson (Gaultier)

10. Michael Curry (Rathgormack)
12. Paul Whyte (Kilrossanty)
15. Joey Veale (Kilrossanty)


23. Liam Ó’Lonáin (An Rinn) for Curry (h.t.)
22. Cillian O’Keeffe (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Hurney (49)
24. Stephen Prendergast (Kilrossanty) for Ferncombe (51)
21. Ray O’Ceallaigh (An Rinn) for Whyte (59)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Hammer blow for Clare as Podge Collins sidelined for ‘foreseeable future’

Galway and Dublin headed for a Leinster hurling replay after Harte’s late point

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: