This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 18 February, 2019

Tipp put faith in U21s for Munster championship quarter-final clash with Waterford

Semple Stadium hosts Sunday’s match with the winner progressing to take on Kerry.

Thomas O'Gorman with Tipperary's Brian Fox.
Thomas O'Gorman with Tipperary's Brian Fox.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Updated at 22.00

TIPPERARY AND WATERFORD have released their starting line-up for this weekend’s Munster Senior Football Championship quarter-final.

The Premier County meet the Tom McGlinchey’s men in Thurles on Sunday (3pm), with the winner set to face All-Ireland champions Kerry in the last four.

Peter Creedon has picked three players from Tipp’s U21 beaten All-Ireland finalists — goalkeeper Evan Comerford makes his championship debut, while Steven O’Brien gets the nod in midfield and Colin O’Riordan is picked in the half-forwards.

Tipperary would be a better team than us on paper but we would always fancy ourselves to have a chance,” Deise captain Thomas O’Gorman told

“We can compete in the Munster Championship. When we go into the qualifiers, it is always very difficult as we have club commitments as well so this is where we want to perform. We want to win games and try get a run.”


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

2. Paddy Codd (c) (Killenaule)
3. Ciarán McDonald (Aherlow)
4. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)

5. Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)
7. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Colin O’Riordan (J K Brackens)
11. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
12. Ger Mulhaire (Arravale Rovers)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)


1. Sean Barron (Ardmore) 

2. Dean Crowley (St Saviours)
3. Thomas O’Gorman (c) (Nire)
4. Shane Briggs (Ballinacourty)

5. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin (An Rinn)
6. Liam Lawlor (Nire) 
7. Maurice O’Gorman (Nire) 

8. Tommy Prendergast (Kilrossanty)
9. Michael O’Halloran (Ballinacourty)

10. Michael Curry (Rathgormack)
11. Patrick Hurney (Ballinacourty)
12. Paul Whyte (Kilrossanty)

13. Mark Ferncombe (Ballincourty)
14. JJ Hutchinson (Gaultier)
15. Joey Veale (Kilrossanty)

Some Kilkenny hurling greats are taking part in a 24-hour cycle for suicide awareness

Here’s your GAA coverage on TV and radio this week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel