Third Level

Glory for Oisin McConville on the management front in Belfast today

Dundalk IT defeated Waterford IT to claim the Trench Cup for the first time.

Oisin McConville Oisin McConville (file photo). Presseye / Andrew Paton/INPHO Presseye / Andrew Paton/INPHO / Andrew Paton/INPHO



MONAGHAN’S DANIEL McKenna kicked three late points to help Dundalk IT win a first ever Trench Cup this afternoon.

DKI, managed by former Armagh star Oisin McConville, led from start to finish with another Farney player Donal Meegan scoring a goal after four minutes to lay the platform for an impressive victory.

Declan Flaherty kicked three points from play for the winners in the opening half with Gerard McSorley also on target twice with DKIT taking advantage of a strong wind early on.

WIT stayed in touch with Nigel Murphy blasting a ball into the roof of the net after 10 minutes.

Niall Harney and Robbie Quigley scored points as they closed the gap to 1-8 to 1-4 at the interval.

Points from Robbie Quigley, Conor Murray and Simon Donohue scored points for WIT who closed to 1-10 to 1-8 behind after 53 minutes.

The game was in the melting pot until McKenna lit up the closing stages, nailing two points from distance and another from a free.

Sub Emmet Kirk also drilled over a ’45′ with his first touch to secure a well-deserved victory for the Louthcollege.

Scorers for DKIT – D McKenna 0-5 (1f), D Meegan 1-1 (f), D Flaherty 0-4, G McSorley 0-3, E Kirk 0-1 (‘ 45′)

Scorers for WIT – N Murphy 1-1 (f), N Harney, C Farrell, R Quigley, S Ryan, P Curtis, S Murray, S Donohue 0-1 each

DUNDALK IT: J O’Donoghue (Cavan); J Smith (Meath), J Murphy (Monaghan), C Lenehan (Louth); C Meegan (Monaghan), K Duffy (Monaghan), C Bellew (Louth); O Coyle (Monaghan), S McElroy (Monaghan); D Meegan (Monaghan), G McSorley (Louth), D Maguire (Louth); R Quigley (Louth), D Flaherty (Kildare), D McKenna (Monaghan) Subs: C Doherty (Louth) for Quigley (HT), C McElwaine (Monaghan) for Bellew (49), R McGuigan (Monaghan) for Maguire (50), T McEneaney (Louth) for Meegan (56), E Kirk (Louth) for Flaherty (60), J O’Donoghue (Louth) for McSorley

WATERFORD IT: C Sheedy (Offaly); A Branigan (Tipperary), P Sexton (Clare), S Donohoe (Wexford); D Hassett (Westmeath), J Snell (Wicklow), P Curtis (Wexford); J O’Connor (Offaly), C Guiry (Waterford); C Farrell (Offaly), N Harney (Wexford), C Murray (Waterford); S Ryan (Waterford), L Boidu (Westmeath), N Murphy (Laois)
Subs: P White (Waterford) for Branagan (BC, 7), R McKenzie (Mayo) for Hassett (HT), D Lordan (Cork) for Guiry (48), C Smith (Cavan) for Farrell (48), D Smithers (Carlow) for Ryan (55)

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Waterford unveil team for Cork clash while Rushe, Durkin and Cronin return for Dublin

LIVE: DCU v UCD, Sigerson Cup final and Ardscoil Rís v Our Lady’s, Dr Harty Cup final