This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

Exciting talents in Dublin, Donegal, Galway and Kerry scoop U21 Player of the Province awards

Aaron Byrne, Michael Langan, Michael Daly and Andrew Barry were the winners of the inaugural EirGrid awards.

Image: INPHO

EIRGRID HAVE ANNOUNCED the winners of the inaugural U21 football Player of the Province Awards.

Michael Daly (Galway), Aaron Byrne (Dublin), Andrew Barry (Kerry) and Michael Langan (Donegal) have been selected after thrilling displays in their respective provincial championships.

Galway captain Michael Daly led his county to their first Connacht title since 2013, while Na Fianna clubman Aaron Byrne kicked four points for Dublin in their convincing Leinster final win over Offaly.

Senior panelist Michael Langan landed the honour after posting 0-19 on the way to Donegal’s first Ulster crown in seven years.

Kerry’s Andrew Barry was the final winner of the award on the back of a man-of-the-match performance in their Munster final defeat of Cork.

The recipients were selected by the Gaelic Writers Association.

On Saturday Dublin face Donegal for a place in the All-Ireland final, while Kerry and Galway meet in the other semi-final.

Monaghan suffer hammer blow as knee injury rules Hughes out for at least three months

‘What a player’, ‘top class’, ‘the greatest’ – tributes paid after Tommy Walsh’s Laochra Gael episode

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: