Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Presseye/Darren Kidd/INPHO Trimble: Ospreys game will be his first competitive Ulster cap in more than 10 months.
# Back To Business
Andrew Trimble handed Ulster start after missing out on RWC squad
Ulster and Connacht have named their teams for tomorrow evening’s Pro12 openers.

ANDREW TRIMBLE WILL look to put his Rugby World Cup disappointment behind him when he lines out in Ulster’s Pro12 opener against Ospreys

The wing will make first competitive appearance for the province since last October at the Kingspan Stadium tomorrow night (7.35pm).

Craig Gilroy and Louis Ludik complete the back three with Stuart McCloskey and Luke Marshall named in an exciting midfield partnership, while 22-year-old Peter Nelson makes his first start at out-half.

Meanwhile, Connacht are set to hand academy centre Rory Parata his Pro12 debut when they host the Newport Gwent Dragons (Friday, 7.30pm).

Flanker Nepia Fox-Matamua wins his first cap while former Leinster lock Ben Marshall is named among the replacements.

Ulster (v Ospreys)

15. Louis Ludik
14. Andrew Trimble
13. Luke Marshall
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Peter Nelson
9. Paul Marshall

1. Andrew Warwick
2. Rob Herring (captain)
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
5. Franco Van der Merwe
6. Roger Wilson
7. Willie Faloon
8. Nick Williams


16. John Andrew
17. Ricky Lutton
18. Bronson Ross
19. Peter Browne
20. Clive Ross
21. Sean Reidy
22. David Shanahan
23. Sam Arnold

Connacht (v Dragons)

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Danie Poolman
13. Rory Parata
12. Bundee Aki
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Quinn Roux
5. Andrew Browne
6. John Muldoon (captain)
7. Nepia Fox-Matamua
8. Eoghan Masterson


16. Dave Heffernan
17. JP Cooney
18. Finlay Bealham,
19. Ben Marshall
20. Eoin McKeon
21. John Cooney
22. Craig Ronaldson
23. Fionn Carr

Isa Nacewa returns as Leinster name team to face Edinburgh