Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Thursday 13 May 2021

Ulster hand debuts to summer signings Burns, Speight and Addison

Academy prop Eric O’Sullivan and sub-academy wing Angus Kernohan could debut off the bench.

SUMMER SIGNINGS Billy Burns, Henry Speight and Will Addison will make their Ulster debuts in tomorrow’s Guinness Pro14 opener against Scarlets at Kingspan Stadium [KO 5.15pm, eir Sport/Premier Sports/S4C].

New out-half Burns, who joined from Gloucester, will begin the task of replacing Paddy Jackson in Belfast tomorrow, with John Cooney partnering him in the halfbacks. 

Will Addison Will Addison will make his Ulster debut at fullback. Source: Matthew Bunn/INPHO

Former Sale Sharks club captain Will Addison, who is Irish-qualified and has already been in Ireland camp, starts at fullback as the Dan McFarland era gets underway.

Experienced Wallaby Speight, who has joined on a short-term deal from the Brumbies, is on the left wing in a backline that also includes Ireland internationals Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave and Stuart McCloskey.

McFarland’s starting pack for the visit of the Scarlets includes recent academy graduate Tom O’Toole at tighthead in a front row completed by Andrew Warwick and John Andrew.

Ireland international Iain Henderson will be an important figure from the second row, where he lines up alongside captain Alan O’Connor.

The back row sees the return to competitive action of Springboks back row Marcell Coetzee, who has endured two miserable seasons of knee injuries. Openside Sean Reidy and number eight Nick Timoney complete the back row.

Ulster academy loosehead Eric O’Sullivan and sub-academy wing Angus Kernohan are in line for their debuts off the bench.

The northern province confirmed that new tighthead Marty Moore [calf] and Kyle McCall [elbow] both picked up injuries in training and were unavailable for selection.

Meanwhile, Wayne Pivac has named a strong Scarlets team including Wales internationals Jonathan Davies, Rhys Patchell, Ken Owens and James Davies, as well as new signings Clayton Blommetjies, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Blade Thomson.


Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

15. Will Addison
14. Craig Gilroy
13. Darren Cave
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Henry Speight
10. Billy Burns
9. John Cooney

1. Andrew Warwick
2. John Andrew
3. Tom O’Toole
4. Alan O’Connor (captain)
5. Iain Henderson
6. Marcell Coetzee
7. Sean Reidy
8. Nick Timoney


16. Adam McBurney
17. Eric O’Sullivan
18. Ross Kane
19. Kieran Treadwell
20. Chris Henry
21. Dave Shanahan
22. Angus Curtis
23. Angus Kernohan


15. Clayton Blommetjies 
14. Tom Prydie 
13. Jonathan Davies
12. Kieron Fonotia
11. Steff Evans
10. Rhys Patchell
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Rob Evans
2. Ken Owens (captain) 
3. Werner Kruger 
4. David Bulbring 
5. Steve Cummins 
6. Blade Thomson 
7. James Davies
8. Josh Macleod


16. Ryan Elias
17. Phil Price
18. Simon Gardiner
19. Ed Kennedy
20. Dan Davis
21. Gareth Davies
22. Dan Jones
23. Ioan Nicholas

Referee: Marius Mitrea [FIR].

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel