Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 3°C
James Crombie/INPHO
# Team-sheets
McCloskey back, Healy not in squad for vital Ulster v Leinster clash
Jack McGrath starts in the front row for Leinster with Peter Dooley in reserve.

ULSTER HEAD COACH Les Kiss been able to recall Stuart McCloskey for Saturday’s penultimate Pro12 fixture in Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 3pm, Sky Sports).

The hard-carrying centre suffered a shoulder injury last month and had been deputised by Stuart Olding in the number 12 shirt, but with Pro12 play-off places on the line, he comes back to partner Luke Marshall.

Injury to Tommy Bowe has paved the way for Craig Gilroy to start on the left wing with Andrew Trimble on the right, with Jared Payne in his usual non-international role as fullback.

In the back row, Kiss has opted to use openside Sean Reidy at number eight in the absence of Nick Williams who is out for the season.

Cian Healy Donall Farmer / INPHO Healy in training earlier this month. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Leinster meanwhile, have brought Jonathan Sexton back after resting him for the win over Edinburgh, but there is no place in the squad for Cian Healy as Jack McGrath and Peter Dooley are selected as looseheads.

Dave Kearney starts on the left wing, winning his 100th cap for his province ahead of Luke Fitzgerald.


15. Jared Payne
14. Andrew Trimble
13, Luke Marshall
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rory Best (Capt.)
3. Ricky Lutton
4. Peter Browne
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Iain Henderson
7. Chris Henry
8. Sean Reidy


16. Rob Herring
17. Kyle McCall
18. Andy Warwick
19. Robbie Diack
20. Roger Wilson
21. Paul Marshall
22. Stuart Olding
23. Darren Cave


15.Rob Kearney
14. Isa Nacewa (Capt.)
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Ben Te’o
11. Dave Kearney
10. Jonathan Sexton
9. Luke McGrath

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

1. Jack McGrath
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. Hayden Triggs
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jamie Heaslip


16. Sean Cronin
17. Peter Dooley
28. Mike Ross
19. Mick Kearney
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Eoin Reddan
22. Ian Madigan
23. Luke Fitzgerald

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Erasmus can bring vital development, but leaves Foley in ‘tricky’ spot, says Shane Horgan

Here’s what your province needs from the last two Pro12 fixtures