This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Friday 14 December, 2018

Ulster rest Best, Trimble and Payne for tomorrow's derby clash with Munster

Les Kiss makes eight changes for the sell-out showdown at Ravenhill.

Jackson and Piutau: hoping to extend Ulster's Pro12 lead.
Jackson and Piutau: hoping to extend Ulster's Pro12 lead.
Image: Presseye/Darren Kidd/INPHO

IRELAND TRIO RORY Best, Andrew Trimble and Jared Payne have all been rested by Ulster for tomorrow’s Pro12 derby against Munster.

But Les Kiss can call on the fit-again Wiehahn Herbst and Dan Tuohy who will both make their first starts of the season at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.05pm).

Kiss makes eight changes for the sell-out clash with Ireland’s opening November Test against New Zealand very much on his mind.

Paddy Jackson, Luke Marshall and Craig Gilroy, all of whom are in Joe Schmidt’s plans for the 5 November clash in Chicago, are named to start as Ulster look for a win to extend their lead at the top of the Pro12 table.

Herbst and Tuohy return as two of five changes in the pack with Callum Black and Rob Herring completing a new-look front row while Robbie Diack starts on the blindside.

Kiss also makes three changes in the backs with Gilroy and Tommy Bowe returning on the wings while Darren Cave starts alongside Marshall in midfield.

Ulster confirmed that Iain Henderson, also named in Ireland’s November squad, “has shown improvement” in his recovery from a shoulder injury and will be assessed on a weekly basis.

Stuart Olding (hip) is set to miss the next two matches.

Ulster (v Munster)

15. Charles Piutau
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Luke Marshall
12. Darren Cave
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring (captain)
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Robbie Diack
7. Sean Reidy
8. Roger Wilson


16. John Andrew
17. Kyle McCall
18. Andy Warwick
19. Clive Ross
20. Conor Joyce
21. Paul Marshall
22. Brett Herron
23. Jacob Stockdale

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Zebo, Stander and Murray given the weekend off as Erasmus makes 5 changes for Ulster

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel