This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 25 January, 2020

Spillane, Deenihan, Eddie: the first 16 names for UL's Sports Hall of Fame

A new Hall of Fame will open later at the University of Limerick this month.

Spillane: one of the first 16 inductees.
Spillane: one of the first 16 inductees.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

THE UNIVERSITY OF Limerick is to open a new Sports Hall of Fame.

Kerry footballing greats Pat Spillane and Jimmy Deenihan and former Ireland rugby coach Eddie O’Sullivan are among the inaugural inductees who will be honoured later this month.

In total 16 athletes drawn from the worlds of GAA, rugby, athletics and more will make up the initial selection with new members to be added each year.

“These sixteen individuals will be remembered for their achievements, their commitment to excellence and the inspiration they provide to our next generations of athletes,” University President Don Barry said.

“They have reached the pinnacle of their sporting careers and have earned our highest esteem and gratitude for their contribution to UL Sport.”

The induction ceremony, which is part of the university’s ongoing 40th anniversary celebrations, takes place on Saturday 28 September in the University Arena and is open to all.

University of Limerick Sports Hall of Fame inductees

  • Dr Sarahjane Belton – Rugby
  • Mr Brian Mullins – Gaelic Football
  • Ms Eimear Cregan – Hockey
  • Mr Seán O’Grady – Paralympic Athletics
  • Mr Jimmy Deenihan – Gaelic Football
  • Mr Eddie O’Sullivan – Rugby
  • Mr Gerard Hartmann – Triathlon
  • Ms Ciara Peelo – Sailing
  • Dr Liam Hennessy – Athletics
  • Mr Ray Silke – Gaelic Football
  • Dr Eddie Keher – Hurling
  • Mr Pat Spillane – Gaelic Football
  • Mr Seán McMahon – Hurling
  • Ms Carmel Vekins – Kayak & Canoe Polo
  • Ms Sinéad Millea – Camogie
  • Mr Tony Ward – Rugby

Here’s your ‘Mayo v Dublin MEP Gaelic football battle’ pic of the day

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: