Advertisement

Poll: Did Gareth Bale dive again?

The Spurs winger is again embroiled in ‘simulation’ controversy this afternoon.

GARETH BALE FELL. Gareth Bale was booked. That much we know.

But did he go down without contact, or did Craig Gardner’s knee connect with his?

Bale is one of the fastest players in the Premier League, so even minimal contact could unbalance him. But maybe this contact was less than minor, miniscule.

Speaking to Sky Sports after the 2-1 away win over Sunderland, Bale, obviously, didn’t think he deserved a yellow:

“It’s the same again. That’s three times now I’ve been clipped and booked for no reason. People keep saying I’m diving – If you get contact it’s not a dive and referees need to look a bit closer.”

Watch the incident here and tell us what do you think


Poll Results:

He's obviously a cheat. (301)
Knee-on-knee contact, hard to stay up after that. Penalty. (270)
Just because there's contact doesn't mean it's a foul. Shouldn't have been a booking either. (263)



What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:

COMMENTS (11)