This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 15 December, 2018

This is the Waterford team hoping to upset the odds and beat Kilkenny at Croke Park

The Déise are the underdogs but go into the tie full of confidence.

Maurice Shanahan has been the star for Waterford this summer.
Maurice Shanahan has been the star for Waterford this summer.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

WATERFORD HAVE NAMED an unchanged team for their All-Ireland hurling semi-final showdown with Kilkenny at Croke Park on Sunday.

Derek McGrath has stuck with the XV that defeated Dublin in the quarter-final at Semple Stadium last month.

Maurice Shanahan, who scored 1-12 in Thurles, spearheads the Déise attack once again and is joined in the forward line by Michael Walsh and Colin Dunford.

But will be at the other end where Waterford will have their work cut out as the back line attempts to nullify the potent threat Kilkenny possess.

Waterford are one step away from their first All-Ireland final since 2008. Throw-in on Sunday is at 3.30pm and


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
17. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
22. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)

Kilkenny given injury boost for All-Ireland semi-final as Cody hands son first senior call-up

5 talking points ahead of Super Saturday’s football quarter-finals

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: