Dublin: 10°C Friday 22 October 2021

Westmeath defeat Carlow by 11 points in Leinster SFC

Kieran Martin bagged two goals for the Midlands County.

Westmeath's Kieran Martin celebrates after scoring a second goal.
Westmeath's Kieran Martin celebrates after scoring a second goal.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Westmeath 3-15
Carlow 1-10

WESTMEATH will face Dublin at the quarter-final stage of the Leinster SFC after they proved far too strong for Carlow this afternoon in Cusack Park in Mullingar.

Kieran Martin bagged two goals for Pat Flanagan’s side in the first-half with Sean Gannon finding the net in response for Carlow.

The throw-in was delayed by ten minutes to allow the crowds arrive at Cusack Park and the attendance of 3,080 saw Dessie Dolan help Westmeath get off to a bright start.

Carlow fought back with Gannon raising a green flag after Brendan Murphy pumped in a long ball. But then Westmeath took over with Pat Flanagan’s side registering points through John Heslin, Dolan and Egan.

Then they got a massive boost before the break when Martin found the net twice in quick succession to leave them in front by 2-8 to 1-3 at half-time.

Westmeath stayed in control after the break with James Dolan firing their third goal to the net. Despite the efforts of Brendan Murphy, Carlow were forced to endure defeat and must now prepare for the All-Ireland qualifiers.

In contrast Westmeath can look forward to a clash with Jim Gavin’s Dublin in Croke Park on Saturday June 1st.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Scorers for Westmeath: Kieran Martin 2-0, John Heslin 0-6 (0-6f), Dessie Dolan 0-5, James Dolan 1-1, Denis Glennon, Ger Egan, Paul Sharry 0-1 each.
Scorers for Carlow: Brendan Murphy 0-5 (0-1 ’45), Sean Gannon 1-0, Darragh Foley 0-2 (0-2f), Brian Murphy, Eoghan Ruth 0-1 each.

WESTMEATH: Gary Connaughton (Tubberclair); Mark McCallion (Garrycastle), Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks),  Kevin Maguire (Caulry); Doron Harte (Garrycastle),Paul Sharry (St Loman’s), John Gaffey (Garrycastle); David Duffy (Shandonagh), John Heslin (St Loman’s); Kieran Martin (Maryland), Callum McCormack (Maryland), James Dolan (Garrycastle); Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass), Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass), Dessie Dolan (Garrycastle).

CARLOW: Trevor O’Reilly (Tinryland); Conor Lawler (Palatine), Shane Mernagh (Kildavin/Clonegal), BJ Molloy (Rathvilly); Kieran Nolan (Fighting Cocks), Shane Redmond (Tinryland), Benny Kavanagh (Éire Óg); Darragh Foley (Kilbride), John Murphy (Grange); Brian Murphy (Rathvilly), Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly), Eoghan Ruth (Éire Óg); Sean Gannon (Éire Óg), Paul Reid (Palatine), Derek Hayden (Éire Óg).

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

Paralympian Mark Rohan in the Westmeath dugout
Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

4 point victory for Cavan over Armagh in Ulster showdown

LIVE: Connacht SFC Galway v Mayo

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: