INPHO/Morgan Treacy Wexford's Lee Chin and Colm Heffernan celebrate.
# Rising Stars
Wexford seal dramatic extra-time win in Leinster U21 decider with Kilkenny
It’s the first title for the county at the grade since 2002.

Wexford 1-21

Kilkenny 0-21

WEXFORD’S U21 HURLERS are the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster champions after an epic extra-time battle with holders Kilkenny at Wexford Park tonight.

And in a game that saw the provincial rivals go point-for-point over the course of 70 minutes, the tie was ultimately decided by a controversial late goal.

With the score at 21 points apiece the ball was dropped into the Kilkenny square and a scramble in the goalmouth, one brave umpire raised the green flag to signal an own goal off netminder Aaron Duggan.

Man-of-the-match Ian Byrne sent over a monster sideline cut to see the sides swap sides at the break in extra-time two points to the good.

Kilkenny came out and won the first score of the period; Eoin Conroy was yellow carded for a foul in front of the posts and the Cats duly took their point. Kevin Kelly then scored two more in quick succession for Kilkenny to put the visitors ahead again.

The excellent Jack Guiney slotted over a — generously awarded — free for Wexford however with less than a minute on the clock to send the decibel levels at Wexford Park up a few notches however and there was just enough time for that incredible finish when another game seemed on the cards.

Was it over the line? Pic: Jason Sherlock

Scorers for Wexford: J Guiney 0-9 (0-9f); I Byrne 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 ’65); N Murphy 1-0; C McDonald, R Clarke 0-2 each; G Moore (sideline cut), L Chin, B Carton 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kilkenny: K Kelly 0-9 (0-9f); J Power 0-7 (0-6f); R Reid 0-3; G Aylward 0-2.

Wexford: Brian Murphy (Shelmaliers) 2. Garret Foley (Fethard) 3. Conor Goff (Oulart) 4. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna) 5. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley) 6. Shane O’Gorman (Adamstown) 7. Dermot O’Leary (St. Pat’s Camolin) 8. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers) 9. Jack Hobbs (Ballygarret) 10. Jack Guiney (Rathnure) 11. Ian Byrne (Ferns) 12. Garry Moore (Glyn-Barntown) 13. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna) 14. Barry Carton (Cloughbawn) 15. Rhys Clarke (Faythe Harriers).

Kilkenny: Aaron Duggan (Dicksboro);  Pat Carroll (Lisdowney), Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin), Brian Kennedy (capt, St. Lachtains); Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Luke Harney (Kilmacow), Owen McGrath (John Lockes); Jack Langton (Clara), Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro); John Power (Carrickshock), Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Kevin Kelly (St. Patrick’s); Conor Martin (Emeralds), Ger Aylward (Glenmore), Michael Brennan (St. Patrick’s).

Referee: Pat Murphy (Carlow)

Seamus Hickey: I knew Limerick would be back

4 changes for Wexford hurling side to face Clare

Your Voice
Readers Comments