This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 20 March, 2019

Can this team win Wexford's first All-Ireland U21 hurling title in 50 years?

Throw-in on Saturday in Semple Stadium is 7pm.

Wexford stand for the national anthem The Wexford U21 team before July's Leinster final win over Kilkenny. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

WEXFORD HAVE UNVEILED the side that will aim to end the county’s 50-year U21 hurling drought next Saturday night.

Manager JJ Doyle has named an unchanged side for their Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21 final clash with Limerick in Semple Stadium.

To date this summer Wexford have overcome Kildare, Offaly, Kilkenny and Antrim to reach this juncture.

They can call on ten of the team that lost last year’s All-Ireland U21 decider against Clare in Oliver O’Leary, Liam Ryan, Eoin Conroy, Jim White, Padraig Foley, Jack O’Connor, Conor Devitt, Andrew Kenny, Kevin Foley and Conor McDonald.

Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling U-21 All-Ireland Final Media Event Wexford U21 boss JJ Doyle Source: Ramsey Cardy/SPORTSFILE


1. Oliver O’Leary (Buffers Alley)

2. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna – Captain).

5. Jim White (Oylegate Glenbrien)
6. Padraig Foley (Crossabeg Ballymurn)
7. Jack O’Connor (St. Martin’s)

8. Conor Devitt (Ballyfad)
9. Tony French (Adamstown)

10. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
11. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
12. James Cash (Shelmaliers)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarret)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
15. Peter Sutton (Oulart The Ballagh)

16. Luke White (St. Martins)
17. Lar McDonald (Shamrocks)
18. Harry O’Connor (St. Martin’s)
19. Billy Kelly (HWH Bunclody)
20. Sam Kelly (Crossabeg Ballymurn)
21. Shane Murphy (St. James Ramsgrange)
22. Jake Firman (St. Martin’s)
23. Sean Kenny (HWH Bunclody)
24. Anthony Roche (Oulart The Ballagh)

Extended Panel:

Kevin Sheridan, Sean Murphy, Sean Stafford, Pierce Doyle, Darragh Pepper, Yusif Frih, Oliver Doran, Walter Furlong, Gavin Bailey, Joe Coleman.

Small consolation as stars of Mayo and Tipp win August player of the month awards

‘He eats, sleeps, drinks camogie’ – the Galway boss winning All-Ireland titles decades apart

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel