Willl it be Bolt or Gatlin who triumphs in Beijing? Matt Dunham/AP/Press Association Images

When will the Irish & big name athletes be on TV during Beijing 2015?

The World Athletics Championships get under way tomorrow.

AS ANYBODY WHO watches US sports knows only too well, time zones are a pain for those who want to athletic endeavours on TV at a decent time.

This weekend, the World Athletics Champions gets under way in Beijing, a city a full seven hours ahead of Ireland.

Because of that, a lot of the heats will take place while many Irish people are tucked up in bed, with the start gun for the finals going off while most are in work.

The big storyline this week is, of course, Justin Gatlin v Usain Bolt and while the 100m final takes place at 2.15pm on Sunday, their 200m battle is at 2.25pm on Thursday afternoon meaning watching it in work will be tricky for some.

Mark English and Thomas Barr will get the Irish athletes under way on Saturday but it will be an early start for fans watching from home to see if English advances to the semi-finals.

Likewise, those wishing to see Rob Hefferan defend his world crown in the 50km walk probably won’t bother going to bed on Friday night.

Day 1 – Saturday, 22 August

Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Men’s 800m heats
Mark English (UCD), David Rudisha, Nijel Amos
Irish time: 4:50am

Men’s 400m hurdles heats
Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Irish time: 11:35am

Men’s 10000m final
Mo Farah
Irish time: 1.50pm

Day 2 – Sunday, 23 August

Men’s 20km Race Walk
Alex Wright
Irish time: 1:30am

Men’s 400m hurdles semi-final
Thomas Barr
Irish time: 11:40am

Men’s 800m semi-finals
Mark English, David Rudisha, Nijel Amos
Irish time: 1:15pm

Men’s 100m semi-finals & final
Usain Bolt, Justin Gatlin, Tyson Gay
Irish time: 12.10pm & 2.15pm

Anja Niedringhaus Anja Niedringhaus

Day 3 – Monday, 24 August

Women’s pole vault qualification
Tori Pena (Finn Valley)
Irish time: 2:30am

Women’s 3,000m steeplechase heats
Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle), Sara Treacy (Dunboyne), Michelle Finn (Leevale)
Irish time: 2:45am

Men’s pole vault
Renaud Lavillenie
Irish time: 12.05pm

Women’s 100m semi-finals & final
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Irish time: 12.40pm & 2.355pm

Day 4 – Tuesday, 25 August

Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Men’s 400m hurdles final
Thomas Barr
Irish time: 1:25pm

Women’s 1500m final
Genzebe Dibaba
Irish time: 1:35pm

Men’s 800m final
Mark English, David Rudisha, Nijel Amos
Irish time: 1:55pm

Day 5 – Wednesday, 26 August

Women’s 800m heats
Ciara Everard (UCD)
Irish time: 3:25am

Men’s 110m hurdles heats
Ben Reynolds (North Down)
Irish time: 4:20am

Women’s pole vault final
Tori Pena
Irish time: 12pm

Women’s 200m heats
Kelly Proper
Irish time: 12:15pm

Women’s 3000m steeplechase final
Kerry O’Flaherty, Michelle Finn, Sara Treacy
Irish time: 2pm

Men’s 400m final
Kirani James
Irish time: 2.25pm

Day 6 – Thursday, 27 August

Men’s 110m hurdles semi-finals
Ben Reynolds
Irish time: 12:05pm

Women’s 200m semi-finals
Kelly Proper
Irish time: 12:35pm

Women’s 800m semi-finals
Ciara Everard
Irish time: 1:05pm

Men’s 200m final
Usain Bolt, Justin Gatlin
Irish time: 2.25pm

Day 7 – Friday, 28 August

Women’s 200m final
Kelly Proper
Irish time: 2pm

Men’s 110m hurdles final
Ben Reynolds
Irish time: 2.20pm

Women’s 200m final
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Irish time: 2pm

Day 8 – Saturday, 29 August

Ian MacNicol Ian MacNicol

Men’s 50km Race Walk
Robert Hefferan (Togher), Brendan Boyce (Letterkenny), Alex Wright (Leevale)
Irish time: 12:30am

Men’s 5000m final
Mo Farah
Irish time: 12.30pm

Men’s 4x400m relay heats
Thomas Barr, Mark English, Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers), Brian Murphy (Crusaders), Timmy Crowe (Clonliffe Harriers), Richard Morrissey (Crusaders)
Irish time: 3:40am

Women’s 800m final
Ciara Everard
Irish time: 12:15pm

Day 9 – Sunday 30 August

Men’s 4x400m final
Thomas Barr, Mark English, Brian Gregan, Brian Murphy, Timmy Crowe, Richard Morrissey
Irish time: 1.25pm

‘The ambition is to get to the final’ – Thomas Barr on his World Championship hopes and drifting

Leona Maguire becomes first Irish golfer to win the prestigious Mark H. McCormack Medal

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.