Dublin: 15°C Sunday 24 October 2021

All 32 teams have now qualified for the 2018 World Cup and here are the four pots

The group draw will take place in Moscow next month ahead of the finals.

Soccer - FIFA World Cup 2014 - Final - Germany v Argentina - Estadio do Maracana Germany are the reigning champions. Source: EMPICS Sport

WHILE THE REPUBLIC of Ireland won’t be there, the 32 nations that will compete at the 2018 World Cup are now known after Peru qualified at the expense of New Zealand early this morning.

The State Kremlin Palace in Moscow hosts the draw for the finals on Friday, 1 December, and the teams have been split into four seeding pots based on their Fifa ranking from October 2017.

World Cup 2018 pots (Fifa world ranking)

Pot 1

Russia (Hosts)
Germany (1)
Brazil (2)
Portugal (3)
Argentina (4)
Belgium (5)
Poland (6)
France (7)

Pot 2

Spain (8)
Peru (10)
Switzerland (11)
England (12)
Colombia (13)
Mexico (16)
Uruguay (17)
Croatia (18)

Pot 3

Denmark (19)
Iceland (21)
Costa Rica (22)
Sweden (25)
Tunisia (28)
Egypt (30)
Senegal (32)
Iran (34)

Pot 4

Serbia (38)
Nigeria (41)
Australia (43)
Japan (44)
Morocco (48)
Panama (49)
South Korea (62)
Saudi Arabia (63)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Peru get the better of New Zealand to qualify for World Cup after 36-year wait

‘Is he still a good manager?’ – Should Martin O’Neill stay on for two more years?

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel