Eranga Jayawardena/AP/Press Association Images Ireland's cricketers Kevin O'Brien, left, and George Dockerell wait in the team hotel.
# World T20
World T20: Sri Lanka ready as cricket swings into action
Hosts Sri Lanka face Zimbabwe as the World T20 tournament gets underway in Hambantota this afternoon.

Updated 11.15

HOSTS SRI LANKA open cricket’s World Twenty20 against Zimbabwe on Tuesday, kicking off the country’s biggest ever sports event just three years after the end of a bloody civil war.

Mahela Jayawardene’s men will take the field in Hambantota, the southeastern home town of President Mahinda Rajapakse, with hopes high they can end a 16-year wait for their second global title in front of their cricket-obsessed fans.

The match at 3pm BST starts a three-week cricket fiesta involving 12 teams in coastal Hambantota, hill town Pallekele and the capital Colombo, where the fourth World T20 champions will be crowned on 7 October.

Ireland begin their tournament against Australia on Wednesday morning. Ireland qualified for the Super 8 round at the 2009 World T20, and Phil Simmons’ men come into this tournament in fine form following wins in their warm-up matches against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka start the tournament as one of the favourites, although predictions are notoriously difficult in cricket’s shortest format, which has revolutionised the sport and divided opinion since its introduction in 2003.

Home advantage will help the hosts, who have a well-balanced side including the newly crowned cricketer of the year, wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara.

Sri Lanka won the 50-over World Cup in 1996 and have reached the tournament’s two most recent finals, along with the 2009 World Twenty20 title match which they lost to Pakistan.

“Lots of people have asked us why we have choked in the finals,” skipper Jayawardene said. “I’d rather be in that situation than being knocked out in earlier rounds.”

Defending champions England arrive with a youthful squad shorn of star batsman Kevin Pietersen, who is in international exile after a sequence of bust-ups with team management.

South Africa, the number one Test team, are seeking their first ever limited-overs world title, while the West Indies, powerful in this format, would be a popular winner.

The World Twenty20 is the one major trophy to elude Australia.

India, schooled in Twenty20 cricket in the lucrative Indian Premier League, won the inaugural event in 2007, while mercurial Pakistan will hope to reprise their 2009 title run.

The teams have been divided into four pools of three for the preliminary league, with the top two from each advancing to the Super Eights round.

If the seedings go to plan, fans can expect exciting cricket in the Super Eights — a week-long race to the semis and final.

England, the West Indies, Sri Lanka and New Zealand are seeded to meet in group one of the Super Eights, with the top two teams making it to the semi-finals.

Group two is already being billed as the “Group of Death”, with arch-rivals India and Pakistan seeded to face Australia and South Africa.

(c) AFP, 2012

Stirling, O’Brien star as Ireland grind out win

Tri-Time: Morrison comes back strong to take fifth in France