The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 1 °C Monday 19 March, 2018

Derry collect second Ulster minor title in three years with success over Cavan

The Oak Leaf county won out by seven points in Clones.

Derry players celebrate Derry players celebrate their victory. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Derry 1-22
Cavan 2-12

FOR THE SECOND time in three years, Derry will march into the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor football series as Ulster champions after today’s seven-point victory over Cavan.

Derry added to their 2015 title win at this level and helped make amends for last year’s final loss to Donegal with a merited success in Clones.

Derry were in front 0-14 to 1-7 at the interval with a James Smith goal keeping Cavan in the hunt for honours.

They found the net for the second time early in the second half when Philip Rogers punched home a goal for the Breffni outfit.

But Derry kicked on from there to regain control once more with their success sealed when Ben McCarron bagged a late goal.

Lorcan McWilliams hit 0-6 for the winners while McCarron was joint top scorer with a tally of 1-3. Patrick Quigg supplied 0-4 for Derry with Declan Cassidy contributing 0-3.

Rogers scored 1-3 for Cavan with Oisin Pierson notching 0-4 and Cian Madden weighing in with 0-3.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Carlow’s championship has come to an end, but they have well and truly risen

A debut season under Micko, Dubs memories and Kildare’s task facing the best

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel