This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 21 June, 2018


27,055 Views 5 Comments

Evening all, welcome to tonight’s U21 football coverage.

Here’s what’s in store:

EirGrid Leinster U21 football quarter-finals
Dublin v Meath, Parnell Park, 7.30pm
Kildare v Offaly, Hawkfield, 7.30pm
Wexford v Westmeath, St Patrick’s Park, Enniscorthy, 7.30pm

One game is postponed tonight and that’s the meeting of Laois and Wicklow. It’s been refixed for O’Moore Park in Portlaoise next Wednesday 9 March.

Here’s the starting teams in Parnell Park:


1. Johnny Lynch (Moynalty)

2. Michael Flood (St Brigid’s)
3. Daniel O’Neill (Wolfe Tones)
4. Jamie Reilly (St Michael’s)

5. Gavin McGowan (Ratoath)
6. Thomas McGovern (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
7. Neil Kane (Simonstown Gaels)

8. Donie Ryan (Skyrne)
9. Ronan Jones (St Peter’s Dunboyne)

10. Shaun Byrne (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
11. Joey Wallace (Ratoath)
12. James mc Entee (capt) (Curraha)

13. Kevin Ryan (Summerhill)
14. Ruairi Ó Coileain (Navan O Mahony’s)
15. Daire Rowe (Syddan)

And here’s the Dublin team named to start:


1. Lorcan Molloy (St Annes)

2. David Bolger (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Martin Cahilan (Cuala)
4. Eoin Smith (Skerries Harps)

5. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
6. Sean McMahon (Raheny)
7. Darragh Spillane (Cuala)

8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Killian Deeley (Na Fianna)

10. Tom Lahiff (St Judes)
11. Michael Deegan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne)
12. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Dara Mullin (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)

Brendan Cawley from Kildare is the referee for this clash.

Dublin 0-1 Meath 0-0
First blood to Dublin as Con O’Callaghan hooks over a point from play.

Offaly 0-1 Kildare 0-0
Jack Walsh with the opening point of the night in Hawkfield.

Meath 0-1 Dublin 0-1
Ruairi O Coileain brings Meath level with a fine point.

Offaly 0-2 Kildare 0-0
Shane Tierney extends Offaly’s lead.

Meath 0-2 Dublin 0-1
Daire Rowe with a super point to push Meath ahead.


Offaly 0-2 Kildare 0-1
Westmeath 0-1 Wexford 0-0
Dublin 0-2 Meath 0-2

Dublin 0-3 Meath 0-2
Dublin in the ascendancy now as Aaron Byrne blasts over a point but he could easily have rattled the net there.

Offaly 0-3 Kildare 0-2
Ruairi McNamee has edged Offaly in front in Hawkfield.

Dublin 0-5 Meath 0-3
A pair of fine points by Con O’Callaghan pushes Dublin in front but Meath have pulled one back courtesy of Ruairi O Coileain.

Mikey Quinn Dublin sub goalkeeper Mikey Quinn is a son of Irish soccer great Niall. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Offaly 0-3 Kildare 0-3
Westmeath 1-1 Wexford 0-1

Some bad wides by Meath costing them here as they’re backed by the elements in the first-half.

Dublin 0-6 Meath 0-3
24 mins – Darragh Spillane shows a good turn of space to move clear of the Meath rearguard and fire over a point off his left.

Westmeath 1-2 Wexford 0-1
Kildare 0-3 Offaly 0-3

Meath 0-6 Dublin 0-6
29 mins – Now we’re level, three in a row for Meath with James McEntee just after nailing the equalising point.

Second-half is back under way in Parnell Park.

Early goal chances in the second-half for both teams. Gavin McGowan blasts wide for Meath and Darragh Spillane narrowly fails to flick to the net for Dublin.

Yellow card for Dublin’s Martin Cahilan.

Dublin 1-6 Meath 0-7
37 mins – Daire Rowe taps over the resultant free. Meath placing Dublin under huge pressure when Dublin try to work the ball out of defence.

Dublin 1-6 Meath 0-7
38 mins – Another Dublin goal chance but Meath goalkeeper Johnny Lynch does well to smother a shot from Aaron Byrne.

Kildare 2-6 Offaly 0-4
40 mins – Kildare in a strong position now in Hawkfield as they possess an eight-point advantage.

Glenn O'Reilly and Gavin McGowan Meath's Gavin McGowan goes in to challenge Dublin's Glenn O'Reilly Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Still no score for Dublin in this second-half. They’ve lost Michael Deegan now to injury.

Dublin 1-8 Meath 0-8
49 mins – Rowe for Meath and O’Callaghan for Dublin strike points.

Dublin 1-9 Meath 0-8
51 mins – Aaron Byrne hits a point for Dublin to send them four clear.

Westmeath 1-4 Wexford 0-6
Kildare 2-10 Offaly 1-6

Dublin 1-10 Meath 0-8
53 mins – The class of O’Callaghan shines through again as he points a free.

Dublin 1-10 Meath 0-9
58 mins – Meath pull a point back through a Rowe free.

Kildare 2-12 Offaly 1-6

Dublin’s Killian Deeley sent-off.

Westmeath 1-5 Wexford 0-7

So the semi-final draw in the EirGrid Leinster U21FC is:

Dublin v Laois/Wicklow
Kildare v Westmeath

That’s all from us this evening, thanks for joining in.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole