This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 23 June, 2018

Impressive Monaghan lay down Ulster marker with Division 2 final win

It’s back to back titles for Monaghan after winning the Division 3 crown last year.

Conor McManus lifts the Division 2 trophy for Monaghan.
Conor McManus lifts the Division 2 trophy for Monaghan.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Monaghan 1-16

Donegal 1-10

MONAGHAN HAD SIX points to spare over 14-man Donegal in Croke Park today as Malachy O’Rourke’s men made it back-to-back Allianz National Football League titles after coming out on top in the Division 3 decider last year.

The sending off of Donegal’s Rory Kavanagh early in the second half proved to be a turning point in the game but, in truth, Monaghan were good value for their win, playing some sparking football in the spring sunshine, especially in the second half.

Donegal though had the better of opening exchanges, with Paddy McBrearty and Colm McFadden putting them into an early lead. However, Monaghan found themselves with a 0-5 to 0-3 lead mid-way through the first half thanks to points from Darren Hughes (2), Paul Finlay and Conor McManus.

That lead was five points on 32 minutes when Finlay put Monaghan 0-10 to 0-5 ahead before Michael Murphy and McFadden both scored to ensure Donegal only went into the break three points adrift.

The tide turned back in Monaghan’s favour when Kavanagh received his marching orders six minutes into the second half but Donegal were level briefly when Murphy fired home a penalty to make it 1-8 to 0-11.

However, a well taken goal from Kieran Hughes in the 57th minute settled the tie in Monaghan’s favour and O’Rourke’s men ran out comfortable winners in the end, getting four of the final six scores.

Scorers for Monaghan: Kieran Hughes 1-1, Paul Finlay (0-1f), Conor McManus 0-3 each, Darren Hughes, Paudie McKenna 0-2 each, Rory Beggan (0-1 ’45), Fintan Kelly, Dessie Mone, Chris McGuinness, Dick Clerkin 0-1 each.
Scorers for Donegal: Michael Murphy 1-4 (0-3f, 1-0 pen), Colm McFadden 0-4 (0-3f), Odhrán Mac Niallais, Patrick McBrearty 0-1 each.
MONAGHAN: Rory Beggan; Drew Wylie, Vinny Corey, Colin Walshe; Fintan Kelly, Kieran Duffy, Dessie Mone; Owen Lennon, Darren Hughes; Dermot Malone, Stephen Gollogly, Paudie McKenna; Paul Finlay, Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus.
Subs: Dick Clerkin for Lennon (inj) (37), Ryan Wylie for Walshe (black card) (54), Chris McGuinness for Gollogly (58), Shane Carey for Malone (67), Karl O’Connell for Darren Hughes (black card) (73).
DONEGAL: Paul Durcan; Eamonn McGee, Luke Keaney, Karl Lacey; Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Anthony Thompson; Rory Kavanagh, Martin McElhinney; Odhrán Mac Niallais, Ryan McHugh, Christy Toye; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.
Subs: Mark McHugh for Toye (27), Neil Gallagher for McElhinney (27), Conor Classon for Mac Niallais (47), Darach O’Connor for Ryan McHugh (58), Declan Walsh for Keaney (66), Dermot Molloy for McFadden (black card) (68).
Referee: David Gough (Meath).

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel