This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 25 June, 2019

Kerry will play in Leinster next year after clinching the Christy Ring Cup

Third time lucky for the Kingdom at Derry’s expense.

Kerry' captain John Griffin lifts the Christy Ring Cup.
Kerry' captain John Griffin lifts the Christy Ring Cup.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry 1-20
Derry 0-12

Paul Keane reports from Croke Park

Shane Nolan fired 1-8 as Kerry romped to Christy Ring Cup title success at the third time of asking.

The Kingdom were hot favourites against first-time finalists Derry, and while they won with plenty to spare, it wasn’t their peak performance.

That arrived a week earlier in Newbridge when they demolished Kildare by 36 points to gain revenge for last year’s final defeat.

The danger was that Kerry, also beaten in the 2013 decider, may see that Kildare game as the real final and they certainly struggled for momentum at times at Croke Park today. The tiny crowd and lack of atmosphere didn’t help either, though Kerry won’t be bothered as they led from the first score of the game until full-time.

Even playing in fourth gear they had too much for a Derry side that conjured just three points from open play in the entire contest. It was Kerry’s inability to break free with their best hurling that kept Derry in the game and the Kingdom led by just 0-6 to 0-3 after 22 minutes.

Shane Nolan and Conor McSorely Derry's Conor McSorley in pursuit of Shane Nolan of Kerry. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

But back-to-back Michael O’Leary points finally got them going and Nolan’s 30th-minute goal after a great run down the left put real daylight between them. Kerry deserved their 1-10 to 0-8 lead and maintained that advantage throughout the third quarter. Poor Derry only scored one point from open play in the second-half when they should have been chasing the game.

As for Kerry, they eventually turned it on in the last quarter and scored some fine points, most notably two from former Clare All-Ireland medallist Patrick Kelly. Fittingly, Nolan closed out their scoring with three points from frees while Kevin Hinphey saw red for Derry in injury-time.

Scorers for Kerry: Shane Nolan 1-8 (0-7f), Michael O’Leary and Keith Carmody 0-3 each, Colum Harty and Patrick Kelly 0-2 each, John Egan and Daniel Collins 0-1 each.

Scorers for Derry: Ruairi Convery 0-5 (0-5f), Patrick Henry 0-4 (0-4f), Alan Grant, Liam Hinphey and Jonathan O’Dwyer 0-1 each.

Kerry players celebrate after the game Celebration time for Kerry. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Stephen Murphy

2. Rory Horgan
3. Paud Costello
4. Bryan Murphy

7. Keith Camody
6. Darren Dineen
5. Daniel Collins

8. John Griffin
9. Patrick Kelly

10. Michael O’Leary
15. John Egan
12. Colum Harty

13. Mikey Boyle
11. Shane Nolan
14. Padraig Boyle


21. John O’Neill for P Boyle (43)
17. Davy Butler for O’Leary (50)
25. Sean Weir for M Boyle (58)
20. James Flaherty for Harty (63)
19. Dougie Fitzell for Dineen (69)


1. Daryl McDermott

2. Michael Warnock
3. Conor Quinn
4. Sean McCullagh

21. Liam Hinphey
6. Conor McSorley
7. Kevin Hinphey

8. Sean McGuigan
9. Brendan Quigley

12. Patrick Henry
11. Paul Cleary
10. Patrick McCloskey

13. Alan Grant
14. Ruairi Convery
15. Aaron Kelly


22. Niall Ferris for McCloskey (6)
19. Dean Flanagan for Quigley (31)
23. Jonathan O’Dwyer for Clearly (40)
18. Ruairi McCloskey for McSorley (57)
26. Michael Conway for Grant (60)

Referee: John Keane (Galway).

Galway’s full-forward line hit 5-15 to blow Dublin away in Tullamore

Joy for 14-man Roscommon at Croke Park as last-gasp goal seals Nicky Rackard Cup

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: