Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
# Stars Of The Show
6 from Dublin and 4 from Mayo - here's the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star football team
Tyrone, Tipperary, Donegal and Kerry also have winners.

Lee Keegan and Diarmuid Connolly James Crombie / INPHO Mayo's Lee Keegan and Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly are amongst the award winners. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

SIX PLAYERS FROM All-Ireland champions Dublin and four from beaten finalists Mayo have been honoured in the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star football team.

There are two award winners from Ulster champions Tyrone with one player apiece from Donegal, Tipperary and Kerry.

Champions Dublin have winners in Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Brian Fenton, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny and Dean Rock.

Mayo’s players recognised are David Clarke, Brendan Harrison, Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle.

Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte are the Tyrone victors with Donegal’s Ryan McHugh, Tipperary’s Michael Quinlivan and Kerry’s Paul Geaney completing the line-up.

6 from Dublin and 4 from Mayo - here's the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star football team
1 / 15
  • David Clarke (Mayo - Ballina Stephenites)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Brendan Harrison (Mayo - Aghamore)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Jonny Cooper (Dublin - Na Fianna)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Philly McMahon (Dublin - Ballymun Kickhams)

    Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Lee Keegan (Mayo - Westport)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Colm Boyle (Mayo - Davitts)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Ryan McHugh (Donegal - Kilcar)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Brian Fenton (Dublin - Raheny)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone - Trillick)

    Source: Lorcan Doherty
  • Peter Harte (Tyrone - Errigal Ciaran)

    Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO
  • Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin - St Vincent's)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin - Castleknock)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Dean Rock (Dublin - Ballymun Kickhams)

    Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary - Clonmel Commercials)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Paul Geaney (Kerry - Dingle)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO

There are eight first-time winners in Clarke, Harrison, Cooper, McHugh, Harte, Rock, Quinlivan and Geaney.

McHugh follows in the footsteps of previous family winners in his brother Mark (2012), father Martin (1983 and 1992), and uncle James (1992). Rock emulates his father Barney, a winner in 1983, 1984 and 1985.

Quinlivan becomes only the second ever Tipperary football winner after attacker Declan Browne was honoured in 1998 and 2003.

Keegan picks up his fourth award, the highest total ever achieved by a player from Mayo. He is one of five players who were also recognised last year with McMahon, Fenton, Donnelly and Kilkenny also award winners in 2015.

Here’s the team in full for the awards scheme – in association with Opel – with the winners to be honoured at a gala event in Dublin’s convention Centre tomorrow night.

2016 GAA/GPA All-Star Football Team of the Year

1. David Clarke (Mayo) – First time winner

2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo) – First time winner
3. Jonny Cooper (Dublin) – First time winner
4. Philly McMahon (Dublin) – (Winner in 2015)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo) – (Winner in 2012, 2013 and 2015)
6. Colm Boyle (Mayo) – (Winner in 2013 and 2014)
7. Ryan McHugh (Donegal) – First time winner

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin) – (Winner in 2015)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone) – (Winner in 2015)

10. Peter Harte (Tyrone) – First time winner
11. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin) – (Winner in 2014)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) – (Winner in 2015)

13. Dean Rock (Dublin) – First time winner
14. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary) – First time winner
15. Paul Geaney (Kerry) – First time winner

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Poll: Who deserves to be named Young Hurler of the Year?

‘I’ve never played against them’ – Diarmuid Connolly sums up Castleknock’s progress