Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 26 January 2022

Kerry minors see off Galway to complete historic All-Ireland five-in-a-row

The Kingdom’s U17s held off the challenge of the young Tribesmen to secure yet another minor football title.

Kerry celebrate after the game Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Kerry 0-21

Galway 1-14

Paul Keane reports from Croke Park

KERRY CAME GOOD when it counted at Croke Park, outscoring Galway by four points in the closing minutes, to make history as five-in-a-row All-Ireland minor winners.

Boss Peter Keane, who has led Kerry to the last three minor titles and is a contender for the senior vacancy, looked on in anguish as his team fell seven points behind initially.

They leaked 1-7 without reply between the 11th and 26th minutes but strode towards history from there with a commanding display.

Killian Falvey hit four points and was named Man of the Match though his forward colleagues Paul O’Shea and Paul Walsh were also excellent.

Midfielder Darragh Rahilly had a standout performance too, helping Kerry to gain a vital foothold in the area after a shaky start.

Colm Moriarty celebrates Kerry's Colm Moriarty celebrates. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The achievement comes with a small asterisk as this is the first year of the new U-17 age grade.

It’s Kerry’s 16th title in all while Galway, who were aiming for a football-hurling double, were chasing a seventh having last won in 2007.

Donal O Fatharta’s Connacht champions fell 0-4 to 0-1 down but stormed back with that 1-7 blitzkrieg including a 25th minute Tony Gill goal.

But Kerry finished the first-half strong, pulling back four points to trail by just 1-9 to 0-8 at the interval.

Kerry’s resurgence continued after the break and the sides were level four times in the second-half before the holders pulled clear late on.

They outscored Galway by 0-5 to 0-1 from the 59th minute with Walsh, Falvey, inspirational sub Ruaidhri O Beaglaoich and Jack O’Connor all on the mark.

Kerry scorers: Killian Falvey 0-4, Paul Walsh 0-4 (0-1f), Darragh Rahilly 0-3, Ruaidhri O Beaglaoich 0-3, Paul O’Shea 0-2 (0-1f, 0-1 45), Dylan Geaney 0-2, Dan McCarthy 0-1, Michael Lenihan 0-1, Jack O’Connor 0-1 (0-1f).

Galway scorers: Matthew Cooley 0-5 (0-4f), Tony Gill 1-0, Conor Raftery 0-2, Tomo Culhane 0-2, Ryan Monahan 0-1, Eoghan Tinney 0-1, Liam Judge 0-1, Paul Kelly 0-1, Oisin Gormley 0-1.


1. Marc Kelliher (Glenflesk)

3. Owen Fitzgerald (Gniomh Go Leith)
5. Colm Moriarty (Annascaul)
2. Conor Flannery (Dingle)

6. Dan McCarthy (Kenmare)
7. Dan Murphy (Rathmore)
4. David Mangan (Fanuithe Na Leamhna)

9. Darragh Lyne (Killarney Legion)
11. Paul O’Shea (Kilcummin, captain)

8. Darragh Rahilly (Rathmore)
14. Patrick D’Arcy (Glenflesk)
12. Killian Falvey (Annascaul)

13. Dylan Geaney (Dingle)
10. Paul Walsh (Brosna)
15. Michael Lenihan (Dr Crokes)


17. Ruaidhri O Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht) for D’Arcy (42)
18. Kieran O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion) for Mangan (54)
21. Jack Kennelly (Ballydonoghue) for Lenihan (55)
19. Jack O’Connor (Beaufort) for Walsh (63)


1. Donie Halloran (Cortoon Shamrocks)

2. Ethan Walsh (Cortoon Shamrocks)
3. Sean Black (Clifden)
4. Cian Deane (Moycullen)

5. Ryan Monahan (Oughterard)
6. Tony Gill (Corofin
7. Cathal Sweeney (Salthill Knocknacarra)

8. Paul Kelly (Moycullen)
9. Conor Raftery (Glanamaddy, captain)

12. Sean Horkan (St Gabriels)
11. Aidan Halleran (Salthill Knocknacarra)
10. Liam Judge (Caherlistrane)

15. Matthew Cooley (Corofin)
14. Daniel Cox (Moycullen)
13. Eoghan Tinney (Salthill Knocknacarra)


22. Tomo Culhane (Clane, Kildare) for Cox (18-20, blood)
21. Oisin McCormack (Ballinasloe) for Horkan (38)
Culhane for Cox (45)
20. Oisin Gormley (Bearna) for Halleran (47)
18. Conor Halbard (Corofin) for Sweeney (51)
19. Cian Hernon (Bearna) for Judge (55)
23. Eanna McCormack (An Cheathru Rua) for Cooley (64)

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel