This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 4 June, 2020

Women's National League expands to 9 teams for 2020 season

Treaty United, Bohemian FC and Athlone Town AFC are all competing for the first time.

Peamount United's Louise Corrigan with Nadine Seward of Cork City (file pic).
Peamount United's Louise Corrigan with Nadine Seward of Cork City (file pic).
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

THE WOMEN’S NATIONAL League will include nine teams for the 2020 season, the FAI has confirmed.

Athlone Town, Bohemian FC, Cork City, DLR Waves, Galway WFC, Peamount United, Shelbourne, Treaty United and Wexford Youths have been announced as the participants for this years’s campaign.

It represents a change from last year, with Kilkenny no longer part of the league.

A Limerick-based side, meanwhile, will compete under the Treaty United moniker for the first time, while Bohemian FC and Athlone Town AFC are the other new entries.

The FAI have also said that a fixture list for the 2020 season will be released on Thursday.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel