Alexis Sanchez won't be at the World Cup after Arsenal team-mate's bizarre blunder

Colombia’s David Ospina parried an indirect set-piece into his own net, which earned a point for Peru.

DAVID OSPINA WOULD probably do well to avoid Alexis Sanchez when he next sees him at Arsenal training.

The Chile international is likely to be less than happy with his Gunners team-mate after a huge, albeit accidental, error helped ruin his hopes of appearing at World Cup 2018.

Unfortunately for Alexis, Colombia goalkeeper Ospina pushed Paolo Guerrero’s 76th-minute indirect free-kick into his own net in their 1-1 draw with Peru — a goal that would have been disallowed had he not got a touch due to the rules of the taking of an indirect set-piece.

The strike earned a point for Peru and sent them into the World Cup play-offs at Chile’s expense, with Colombia securing an automatic spot for next year’s tournament in Russia.

Source: Tecno Sports/YouTube

The Chileans, who were well-beaten by Brazil in their final qualifier, ended up finishing sixth in the CONMEBOL final standings, with Peru one place above them on goal difference.

Peru will now face New Zealand in a two-legged play-off in a bid to reach their first World Cup since 1982.

More recognition for Meyler as he lands player of the month award

Poll: Which of the 4 teams would you like to see Ireland face in the play-offs?

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel