This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 14 July, 2020

Ballyhale and Borris-Ileigh dominate All-Ireland club hurling awards

The finalists both have five players on the XV.

Ballyhale's Colin Fennelly and Jerry Kelly of Borris Ileigh were both named on the team.
Ballyhale's Colin Fennelly and Jerry Kelly of Borris Ileigh were both named on the team.
Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

BACK-TO-BACK ALL-Ireland champions Ballyhale Shamrocks have claimed five places on the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards Team of the Year.

Joey Holden, Darren Mullen, Evan Shefflin, TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly all made the side, with Holden, Reid and Fennelly all claiming their second honour.

Beaten finalists Borris-Ileigh also had five players named on the team – James McCormack, Paddy Stapleton, Brendan Maher, Dan McCormack and Jerry Kelly. 

Shane Cooney (St Thomas’), Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil), Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner) and Marty Kavanagh (St Mullins) make up the seleciton.

The awards will be presented at a banquet in Croke Park this Friday night with Ballyhale pair Reid and Shefflin plus Borris-Ileigh’s Maher the nominees for the Hurler of the Year award.

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Hurling 2020

1. James McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
3. Joseph Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks) – Previous winner in 2019
4. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

5. Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
7. Shane Cooney (St Thomas)

8. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Christopher McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

10. Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil) – Previous winner in 2018
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks) -Previous winner in 2019
12. Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh)

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks) -Previous winner in 2019
15. Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel